I’d like to teach the world to sing

I think the world would be a much better place if everyone sang at least one song a day. Doesn’t matter where or what. The shower is a good place. So is dancing round your bedroom belting out a power ballard into a hairbrush. I swear it releases something healthy and puts you in a good mood.

My preference is to warble while washing up. Makes an otherwise annoying chore more bearable. Current favourite warbling tunes are:

  • Other Side of the World (KT Tunstall)
  • Summer of 69 (Bryan Adams)
  • I Don’t Feel Like Dancing (Scissor Sisters)
  • Thank you for the Music (ABBA)
  • Come What May (from the film Moulin Rouge)
  • All That Jazz (from the musical Chicago)

Warbling is not without its perils and pitfalls though. My most embarassing warbling moment occured while washing up. I was listening through headphones to my iPod and singing along. I’m pretty softly spoken until you shove a pair of headphones on me. That’s just about the only time I get told to “shut up”. 

Anyway one time I was having a good old warble whilst splashing around in the washing up bowl (not all of me – just my hands)  and had to take a small pause for breath only to become aware of a couple of voices singing along and also laughing hysterically outside the kitchen window.  Embarrassing wasn’t the word! (I do believe the tune of choice that night was KT Tunstall’s Other Side of the World.)

Since then I’ve acquired an iPod speaker, which makes the warbling process safer for everyone involved. Nobody outside has to risk a hernia from laughing, and I get to maintain some semblance of dignity by having something to drown out my off-notes.

Just wish I could do it a bit more in tune!

1 Response to “I’d like to teach the world to sing”


  1. 1 Ally March 22, 2007 at 9:35 am

    Haha – nez, I loved this entry !! And I totally agree with you – singing along is the best and easiest way to put yourselfs in a good mood ! Personally I do the iPod thing you described while doing my weekly house-cleaning. I hate doing this without my earphones on – and of course I can´t listen without singing and humming along !! Guess the neighbors know my usual cleaning day by now….

    Nez sez: totally with ya sista! (Okay… not sure I can ‘pull off’ the ethnic speak.)


Leave a Reply

