Busy Day

I feel like I’ve done something useful today. I spent quite a bit of it outside doing some “gardening”. My major “project” for this year is to get my front and back gardens in better shape.Here’s a couple of ‘before’ shots of the back as extra incentive for me to pull my figure out.
Project 2007  Project 2007
Started off by mowing the piece of scrubland in the backgarden I laughingly refer to as a lawn.  It was the first ‘mow’ of the year and a bit tough going because it’s more moss than lawn and I also made a mistake by getting a hover mower instead of a pushalong one. I’m not sure I call it “hovering”. It’s more akin to trying to control a shopping trolley with a wonky wheel.

I’d ordered 15 bags of compost, and they said they’d deliver them at about 2pm. They turned up at 1.58pm so you can’t argue with that can you?!

After lunch I started digging up the bits of my front garden that are ‘mistakes’. This seems to be quite a lot of it. Ah well – you live and learn.

I filled up my green bin (the one that’s for garden waste) in about 5 seconds, and splashed copious amounts of ’round up’ over some other bits that need to go in the hope they’ll die off a bit and be easier to dig out.

Anyway, digging must be good for the soul or something. I definitely feel better for the fresh air. I suspect I may ache just a little bit tomorrow though.

Had to stop about 4pm because today was the first night of a play that the kids drama group I help out with was doing. The play in question is “Our Day Out” by Willy Russell (he of Educating Rita, Shirley Valentine, Blood Brothers etc). We didn’t have the hugest audience in the world, but that may just be to do with it being Red Nose Day here as well. Fingers and toes crossed we’ll do a bit better tomorrow. The kids did a good job though. (I do their music for them – and look after their website. Go here  www.stagekids.btinternet.co.uk if you want to have a little look.)

0 Responses to “Busy Day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

