Book worm

I like reading. There’s nothing like opening a book for the first time and reading those first few lines. Those crisp new pages offering the promise of who knows just exactly what ahead. That satisfying crack when you put the first crease into the spine.

A good book is also like a good friend:

  • Keeps you entertained
  • Keep you company on a train, plane, bus etc
  • Offers advice and practical solutions to problems (yet doesn’t answer back in a pointless and idiotic manner)
  • Comes in all shapes, sizes and persuasions
  • Good for your health (the worst danger I can think of is the odd paper cut from turning a page too fast)

(I’m sure there’s more, but it’s Friday evening and my brain is dulled.)

I sometimes get in a pickle with my books though. I like them so much I’ll often start one before I’ve finished the ones I already have on the go and before I know it I’m trying to follow multiple plots and storylines. I try not to end up with more than five on the go though. That’s just silly.  Four is mildly ridiculous as it is.

The picture below illustrates what can sometimes happen when you find yourself working your way through multiples of books.

Bedtime reading

When the tower is higher than the lamp I know it’s time to take action.

I will buy a book then add it to the pile inside my bedside unit where it rests, quietly gathering dust and fluff, until that happy day when it finally reaches the top of the pile and is plucked into daylight, lovingly dusted off and hugged to my (not so adequate) bosom. (This is the literary equivalent of sitting in a marinade – maturing until the time is just right for reading.)

I should point out the pile is on occasion quite sizeable, and as a result I sometimes end up buying the same book twice.  (Ooops.)  When this happens and the duplicate copy finally makes it to the top of the pile, the dusting and hugging is generally followed by a rather thoughtful sounding “ahh….. this looks familiar” moment. (I admit, sometimes that doesn’t happen until I’ve read 5 chapters though….)

I must admit, they’re generally not particularly high-brow books. I’m more of the Chick-lit persuasian, although I do occasionally go for something a little meatier. I also quite like biographies (preferably of the auto variety). I’m currently working my way through Michael Palin’s diaries for example.

Anyway, if you’re stuck for a read and you’re after a little bit of light and enjoyable fluff, I would be happy to make suggestions. To keep you going, those among my particular favourites would be: Sophie Kinsella (esp the Shopaholic series), Carole Matthews (esp The Sweetest Taboo – my favourite of the lot!), Belinda Jones, Marian Keyes, and Sheila O’Flanagan. (Probably helps to be female to read these though. ;o) )

And, in the words of Forrest Gump, “that’s all I have to say about that”. For now anyway.

2 Responses to “Book worm”


  1. 1 sulz March 31, 2007 at 1:07 am

    i love reading too, so much so that nothing much will stop me from it, including exams and deadlines for assignments! and i adore reading chick-lit too, but only the really good ones like sophie kinsella, jilly cooper, marian keyes, helen fielding etc etc. i can’t stand cecelia ahern though.

    http://sulz.daria.be

  2. 2 Ally April 2, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    Nez, I will never forget it was you who recommended one book that is among my absolute favourites since I read it for the first time : The Time Traveller´s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger ! And I love it even if I am disregarding the “reason” you recommended it for… uhm, I´m sure you know what I mean ! Thanks again !!!

    Nez Sez: The only book that’s ever made me blub….! (I’m so soft!)


Leave a Reply

