Blank Canvas

Okay then, here is my blank canvas! Please do look becuase I had to half dangle out of my bedroom window to get this particular view. (It’s a better view than out the other window, so even though I take it totally blind, I think I’ll have to try it again!)

Blank Canvas

After three and a half days hard graft “the men” finished at lunchtime today. I can’t tell you how pleased I am with it, (and it even looks a lot like the original plan!) but it’s sinking in now that I have to work out what plants I want where.

The garden is the only place where I’m remotely girly, so I’m thinking it will probably be a purple, white, blue, lilac, burgandy and possibly pink theme. (Although Barbie pink will be well and truly out of the equation I assure you.)

I’ll have to have another look at my Getty Center photos. I absolutely loved the garden there – perhaps that will give me some inspiration. (Well…I have got lots of Meier-esque square slabs everywhere after all!)

I really do need to think about what I’m going to do though. I don’t want it to end up looking fab in just the summer and pants in the winter, and I also don’t want to waste loads of money by getting stuff that’s not going to last (bedding plants aside).

I like the idea of having things like clematis and jasmine growing over the fence. I would have thought that if I do my research right, I’ll find some that will flower at different times. (And loads of clematis are purple-y which is just the job!)

Other things I know I want so far are:

  • Irises
  • Lavender
  • Allium
  • Euronymous (for a nice splash of green)
  • Red Hebe
  • Verbena

The neighbour’s cat is pretending not to be impressed, but she was seen earlier on sunning herself in the newly repositioned greenhouse, so I’m pretty sure she secretly likes it.

1 Response to “Blank Canvas”


  1. 1 palsblog April 14, 2007 at 5:18 am

    Its looking good.

    And a greenhouse, you are soooo lucky.


Leave a Reply

