Sticks and Stones…

….will do their best to hurt me. I’m tired. I spent about 5 hours today digging up stones, bricks and other assorted “stuff” out of a bit of earth that’s going to be turfed and it was bloomin’ hard work.  One of ‘my men’ thought it would probably be okay to turf straight on to it, but I wasn’t so sure – especially after consulting the mighty Alan Titchmarsh via www.crocus.co.uk.

I’m pretty sure there was far too many stones in the ground and I don’t want to buy and lay turf only to have it die because it’s got nothing to grip and root into. I also knew there were a few bluebells, the odd daffodil and a general assortment of weeds lurking just under the surface and waiting for the right time to pop up and laugh evilly at me.

So… I had a good old dig around and now there’s perhaps less stones (although it’s open to debate) and my green wheelie bin is full (and extremely heavy). It’s depressing because it’s one of those jobs where it doesn’t look like you’ve done anything (hence no photo!) even though you’ve been working your socks off.

I also kept discovering large bits of root (the sticks of the title) from the lilac tree that I had to get rid of a couple of years ago. Every time I pulled a particularly large bit out I got showered in dirt. Nice!

Having read Mr Titchmarsh’s instructions about turf laying, I’ve got all nervous about it. (Stupid I know.) I’m positive I’m going to do it wrong. I don’t have a plank of wood to balance on so you don’t squash either the new turf or the prepared soil like he says, so I’m just going to make it up as I go along. Surely it won’t be the end of the world if I can’t balance on a plank of wood? Isn’t turf one of the toughest plants in the garden – it gets walked on enough for a start.

I didn’t get through as much stone and root excavation as I would have liked either which is annoying since the amount of turf I ordered anticipated me getting more done. I’m not sure whether to just take a chance and just lay it over the un-done bit, or take a different chance and leave some of the turf for the next weekend and risk it dying a bit.

Wow. Didn’t think I had to so much to say about stones and turf.

I am sooooo going to ache tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Sticks and Stones…”


  1. 1 jackiesgarden April 16, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    Nez, we put down sod/surf two years ago – and it’s tough stuff! No one told us we had to balance on a plank (we didn’t!). It IS tough stuff, and as long as you keep it wet enough so the edges don’t dry out, it’ll be fine. I love how it makes INSTANT LAWN!

    Nez sez: Phew – that’s good to know! And I completely get what you mean about ‘instant lawn’!
    I’m feeling a bit impatient – part of me wants INSTANT WHOLE GARDEN! LOL. Well… I definitely want INSTANT NO BIG STONES at the very least.

  2. 2 jackiesgarden April 16, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    No, Nez, we didn’t put down ‘surf’! It was TURF – or ‘sod’, as we call it. 🙂
    Nez sez: LOL. I didn’t even notice your typo – you could have got away with it. Surf would indeed be tricky to put down. I imagine it wouldn’t want to stay put!

  3. 3 jackiesgarden April 16, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    And I just learned something from you that I’ll have to try! I didn’t know you could respond to a comment, right on that person’s comment! Wow. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

