Quick Turf Update

I’m sure there are loads of people out there who can’t sleep at night without knowing the latest on my turf situation, so I thought I’d do a lightning quick update for you before heading off to Bedfordshire.

Anyway, on Saturday I spent a few minutes peering at the brown space on the left of the following picture, with one eye closed and my head titled to one side. This is my standard pose for when I’m considering stuff. “Hmmm….” I murmured, one hand thoughtfully rubbing my chin, “I don’t know about you, but I reckon to convert that patch of bare soil into a nice lawn as per the official project 2007 plan* that would take about 12 square metres of turf.”

* see earlier entries.

Before....

So, off I trotted to visit the friendly turf ordering people and asked “Can I have 12 square metres of your lovely turf please?” They said “Why yes of course – we’ll deliver it on Tuesday, is that okay?”

I get home from work today (Tuesday), and sure enough there’s 12 square metres of turf on my drive all nicely rolled up and waiting for me. I immediately don my official turf laying outfit (black waterproof trousers, black fleece, bright yellow marigolds) and get cracking. (I didn’t even have a pre-turf laying cup of tea.) After about one and a half hours the turf looks like this and the bright yellow marigolds are no longer bright yellow:

And After....

And I absolutely swear on your noggin all that I had leftover was this:

Pretty good guessing

Now, I don’t know about you, but in my book, that’s some damn good guessing!! (It will never happen again…)

Hopefully it will settle in alright. It did have some nice compost to sit on, a generous sprinkling with the trusty hose and received the magic mantra (“live long and prosper”) so all being well it will knit together as quickly and nicely as the first lot.

Right… must be bedtime!

2 Responses to “Quick Turf Update”


  1. 1 jackiesgarden May 19, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Nez, glad to see how the yard is coming, and to be able to visit again and catch up on your blog. It all looks so good…I would love to sit in this yard! I’m afraid your stone pile would intimidate me, too, but what are you going to do but move it! A little at a time and it’ll get done, huh?!

    Nez sez: Hi Jackie! Thanks for popping by! I’ve been out in the garden again today, but just for weeding – we’ve had quite a lot of rain recently, which means the weeds have been popping up! I’m hoping to plant some of my summer bedding tomorrow, so perhaps those new empty borders will start looking a bit more interesting soon.

    As for the stones, I think I’ll hire a small skip when I’ve dug over all my beds and just get rid of them that way. 🙂 Either that or I’ll pretend it’s some sort of feature!!

  2. 2 palsblog May 27, 2007 at 5:56 am

    Its looking good and if like us you have rain today that will help it along. Have you got a lawnmower yet?

    Nez sez: Oh yes – we’ve had the rain too! But isn’t this evening gorgeous!? And yes, the mower has made a couple of appearances so far. 🙂


Leave a Reply

