Happy Anniversary to me!

Okay, you may have noticed a couple of past mentions of a certain Mr Reeves. I think he’s lovely, and I really enjoy being an admirer of his because as a result I’ve made some very good friendships that I otherwise I wouldn’t have done, and have visited some far flung places I otherwise wouldn’t have been to (like New York, LA and….um….just outside of Hull, East Yorks). So thank you Mr Reeves.

Okay….enough with the mushy! Anyway, just about this time last year I was floating high above the ground on that cloud numbered nine because I got the chance to see him in the flesh and exchange a few words with him, so this evening I’m gratuitously reliving the moment.

Gratuitious photo (taken by me with suprising lack of emotional wobble):

Lake House Premiere, London, 19 June 2006

This is a rough ‘transcript’ of our ‘conversation’:

Me – whispering as I realise I’m NEXT in line for a few words: “Please, please, please, please, please!” (as in ‘please speak to me!’)

Keanu – looks at photo I’m feebly holding out for an autograph, cocks his head to one side, looks me in the eye enquiringly and asks in amused tone: “Where did you get that!?

Me – opening and closing mouth several times without making any sound: “…..”

Keanu – staring at me, expression gradually turning to one of mild alarm, hurriedly signing photo and obviously thinking something along the lines of: “Oh crap, I muted another one. Mr Wizard, get me the hell outta here…”

Me – suddenly regains power of speech as Keanu moves on to next person: “Thank you, thank you, thank you.”

Keanu – gives strange look to small person saying multiple thank yous and thinks to self: “At least she has good manners….”

We did have another just as short ‘conversation’ where I waved a card at him and he ‘jumped’ back over to get it. I swear he literally jumped over to me. He looked a bit suspicious of it, but I promise it was a thank you card and not a token-of-my-undying-love card. (I do manage to retain some semblance of reality whilst being a fan. 😉 ) This conversation went as follows:

Keanu – bends down (I’m VERY short) to read envelope of card and then asks in a wary tone: “And what do I do with this?”

Me – beaming from ear to ear and thinking he doesn’t seem as tall as I expected him to be (which is probably because he’s bending down): “Whatever you like!!!”

Keanu – takes card from short person and hands it directly to one of his minder / entourage persons and thinks: “In this case I’m just gonna be polite and take it and then hand it to my good friend Glenda* here and get her to throw it in the trash for me but she’ll be none the wiser bless her cotton socks.”

I sincerely hope he DID throw it out because (cringes at memory) I my have included Keanu limerick or two inside. How embarrassing. *cheesy grin*

* Glenda….No idea if that was really her name, but for the purposes of this post, she’s Glenda.

Gratuitous Keanu clip from yore. (Thanks Ally. 😉 )

3 Responses to “Happy Anniversary to me!”


  1. 1 Confused McBurro June 19, 2007 at 8:27 am

    I though you meant “Vic” when you said Mr Reeves 🙂

    Nez sez: Oh that’s made me chuckle! 🙂

  2. 2 Sal June 19, 2007 at 9:59 am

    I still have the rather excited text you sent me on “the night”!
    That clip is soooo cute!! He never sits still for a moment. And I’ve give him a turn round the dance floor, any time 😉

    Nez sez: Awww – you still have that text. That’s given me a warm happy glow. Yes, I’d give him a turn on the dance floor as well, although it might be a tad comical given our height differences…

  3. 3 jackiesgarden June 19, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Happy Anniversary, Nez. (chuckling) He’s a little too young for me.


Leave a Reply

