Rain, rain, go away….

Okay. It’s official. I’m fed up with rain. It’s crazy here in the UK at the moment. The “brook” in the town where I live burst it’s banks again today. The pic below is my usual route to work. I could pass it this morning, but not on the way home.


My usual route to work....

It also burst its banks again round the back of my estate. This is how those houses got flooded last time. It isn’t as high as last time, but it’s still not at all funny. I know it’s very low scale compared to some places, but that stream is normally teeny tiny! The ground is just so saturated the water hasn’t got anywhere to go any more. Wish I could blog the sound it made as it roared past too.

Flippin' 'eck 3 Flippin' 'eck 1

It’s far, far worse than this in other parts of the country. Someone drowned trying to clear out a drain when he slipped and fell into it and they couldn’t get him back out. They’re rescuing people in Sheffield by helicopter from their offices because they can’t get out. Here’s a couple of links to the BBC’s “your pictures” pages:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/in_pictures/6237468.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/in_pictures/6238654.stm

It’s supposed to be dry tomorrow, and then it’s meant to get rainy again from Wednesday. Here’s hoping it’s not too much…

4 Responses to “Rain, rain, go away….”


  1. 1 jackiesgarden June 26, 2007 at 2:56 am

    Nez, I’ll bet you are tired of that rain! You must get a fair amount anyway, everything looks so very green in your pictures. I’m always in awe of Mother Nature and what she does. And it never seems fair – one area will be in a drought – and another will be flooding. We need a happy medium. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for sunshine for you.

    Nez sez: Awww thank you! We’re meant to have a dry day today. Not sure it will actually manage sun, but dry is good – although we need lots of dry days for the ground to dry out. We are forecast more rain later in the week though. I cannot believe what it’s like in Yorkshire and Gloucestershire. The damage is going to cost millions and millions I imagine…

  2. 2 Damp McBurro June 27, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    It’s not too bad over here in Preston, but we have been known to flood (not on my street – phew!)
    By the way – does your blog have an RSS feed?

    Nez sez: Glad you’re not flooded. It’s actually been really nice weather here the last couple of days. Just COLD!

    No RSS feed. Yet. RSS is a bit of a mystery to me. Might have a go at sussing it out though. Any tips??!

  3. 3 RSS Me! McBurro June 29, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Hmmm… not really. It *should* be in your settings, but I don’t know where. Your blog has the RSS feed for comments switched on, so i imagine there will one for the posts somewhere.
    I’m new to RSS to, but have taken to using Google’s free reader to login and read all my fav. blogs new posts in one go. http://www.google.com/reader

    Nez sez: Thanks for the link. I have next week off work (woohoo!) so I’ll aim to investigate and crack this RSS business then. :o)

    At least I hope I have a week off! I’m meant to be having a new bathroom put in, but the place that’s doing it got flooded and a lot of their stuff was wrecked! My bathroom stuff didn’t get damaged (or so they tell me), but it’s all hinging on them having the tools and things I think (and nothing else disastrous happening weatherwise this weekend). They’re based in a place which gets flooded by the River Severn a lot (Ironbridge), but…they’re at the TOP of the river valley, not the bottom! It wasn’t actually the river that flooded (last time I checked, they don’t run uphill) it was just an excess of rain water that flooded down the hill. Crazy mad.

  4. 4 Sal June 29, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    We seemed to have escaped from Hull before the worst of the weather kicked in – still missed our flight, but never mind, we got to see Rome which we otherwise wouldn’t have done. Hope you’re OK, not flooded, airbricks dry and patio safely secured against incursions

    Nez sez: Hi hun – hope you had a good trip! What’s it like around your way? It’s all calm around here really, but quite a few houses here got wrecked which has never happened before. It’s like Sheffield but on a much smaller scale! I’m fine. I feel silly for worrying about my airbricks since I discovered about the carnage on the other side of the estate to me! *blushes slightly*


Leave a Reply

