Rain stopped play

For those gardening types who like grubbing around the muck and dirt, I’m sorry I haven’t written much about the garden for ages, but the honest truth is I’ve not really been able do anything in it for what feels like ages. It’s all that damn wet stuff that keeps from falling from the sky. And the days when it is dry, it’s too cold for the ground to dry out enough to attempt digging, and then it goes and rains again anyway, so….vicious circle.

This picture below is more or less the sum of my acheivements last weekend and it only took about ten minutes. I made a “wigwam  thingy” (yes – trust me that is the correct technical term) for my tomato plants because the supports they did have were getting a bit wibbly-wobbly-woo and I was in immiment danger of a spot of floppage.


Masterpiece of Engineering

Now they are all nice and un-wibbly-wobbly-woo and all fears of floppage are now a dim and distant memory. I have three tomatoes on the way, although two are currently just about the size of a pin-head and the the third only slightly bigger than a pea, so I’m trying to stop myself from getting too excited.

The only other thing I managed was pulling out a few weeds because they were obscuring my sweet peas (the only real plants on the entire right hand side of the garden).  I had a moment of mild excitement this evening when I spotted my first sweet pea flower. 🙂 It’s a lilacy one. I really must get around to putting some wire support type things on the fence for them to start scrambling up. Maybe this weekend if I’m lucky.

Where’s the sweet peas??! THERE they are!
Before After
(You might have to squint a bit because the picture’s a bit on the small side!)

More rain forecast for the next few days….

3 Responses to “Rain stopped play”


  1. 1 jackiesgarden June 30, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Nezza, I hope you are drying out a little bit over there.
    I’ll be anxious to see how your tomatoes fare. I’ve heard of planting in the bags like that, but I’ve never tried it or seen it done. Have you done that before?
    Good job on the ‘wigwam thingy’! 🙂

  2. 2 Sal July 7, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Floppage on the tomatoes a very bad thing! Good job you cured it. How are they doing? My Gardener’s Delight started really well but seemed to have stopped flowering, although the Roma are doing pretty well – mine are outdoors though (no greenhouse) so this weather isn’t helping at all

  3. 3 nezza July 7, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Hello m’dear.

    Yep – cured it with my impressive looking bamboo ‘structure’. They seem to be pretty healthy as far as I can tell, and I have four toms ‘in development’. One slightly bigger than a pea, 3 somewhat smaller. Lots of flowers on it, so it’s all good signs I suppose.

    I think they desparately want some decent sunshine though. 🙂 Keep your fingers and toes crossed that we finally get some summer now!


Leave a Reply

