Pop(py) Art

Well, they came and started on the bathroom today. Oh alright then – ONE man came and started on the bathroom today. The old one is all ripped out now and in a skip on my drive. He even got as far as making a good start on sorting out all the pipework for the new ‘furniture’.

Meanwhile I spent the day staying ‘out of the way’, making the worker guy cups of coffee at regular intervals, and wandering around in the garden with the camera. I also learnt about a clever little thing called ‘Macro’ today, which I then discovered my camera actually has (although I didn’t know it).

Macro is a little ‘thingy’ that lets you take decent close-ups of things like flowers with a digital camera. Since I’ve had my flickr album, I noticed people mentioning the term ‘macro’ quite a lot, so today I finally got around to looking it up and – hey presto – ther it was hiding innocently on my camera. I also have ‘SuperMacro’ as well as just bog-standard ‘Macro. (I really should just read the entire manual shouldn’t I?!)

(If you want to see if your own digital camera has it, look for a little symbol of a tulip. If you also have a tulip with an ‘S’ by it, well that’s ‘SuperMacro’. Splendid!)

So,  everytime the sun came out I had a play. And it works. I can now take non-blurry close ups! Woohoo! Here’s my current favourite poppy photo:


Poppy

Poppies are just about the only thing flowering in the garden at the moment. They look so bright and cheerful, and were just crying out to be photographed. It was quite sunny today, so the blue of the sky and the wispy clouds just ‘set them off’ nicely.

I had to ‘guess’ at what I was taking though as I couldn’t get my head down that low. Sometimes I ‘missed’ completely, but every now and then I got a decent shot like this.

7 Responses to “Pop(py) Art”


  1. 1 Wow! McBurro July 3, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Now that is a bloody brilliant shot…

  2. 2 nezza July 3, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    You’ve just made my day saying that. Thank you. :o)

  3. 3 Katie July 3, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    Love your photo – macro is a wonderful thing.

  4. 4 nezza July 3, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Thank you Katie. Taking that photo was a very happy accident. :o)

  5. 5 Sal July 7, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    That’s a fantastic picture!

  6. 6 nezza July 7, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Thank you again! I can’t quite believe I took it. I’m waiting for the person who says they don’t reckon I did so that I can show them the uncropped one that includes a bif of garden fence. I really can’t claim any ‘skill’ though. It was just a lucky shot. The poppy was being all wonderfully floaty and delicate in the breeze, and the sky was just perfect. Clouded over again about 5 minutes later! You can see a couple of raindrops still on it. I’d never really noticed poppies have such hairy stalks before either.

  7. 7 jackiesgarden July 10, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Great shot. I have macro, too, but am not very good at it – I still keep wanting it to get closer.


Leave a Reply

