What’s going on in the garden then?

Well…not much really. It’s still too wet to be ‘digging’ and also this week I am without a bathroom while I’m having a nice new one installed so I can’t go getting too dirty. My neighbours are very kindly letting me use their shower so I’m not ponging or anything, but I’m not about to go traipsing mud through their house.

It’s not as wet as it has been recently though, so I have managed to do one or two jobettes outside.

  • On Monday I just lazed around all day and did nothing which was very nice thank you very much.
  • On Tuesday (inspired by the hammering sounds coming from up above) I knocked a few naily-hook things into my fence (only hitting my thumb once) and threaded some wire through them in the hope that the sweet peas might decide to have a go at climbing skywards. Poor things – they look a bit unloved. I did rather throw them in the ground in a hurry and left them to it. (Probably because as soon as I got the trowel out I seem to recall it started raining.)
  • On Wednesday I gave Bruce a severe haircut. Complete short back and sides. (Bruce is my Forsythia bush.) If you’re British you may get my bad, bad, bad excuse for a joke. I think the before and after shots below are quite startling. 🙂
  • On Thursday – today – I gave the (nameless) cotoneaster next to Bruce a pudding bowl haircut. I’m not sure he’s speaking to me now. Oh dear. Poor cotoneaster. He was given a VERY bad haircut several years ago, and as a result his branches don’t grow from the bottom anymore, so it’s hard to give him a stylish ‘do’ these days. He does look a bit bare and naked on the bottom now. Perhaps I ought to try and find him a loin cloth until things start growing again.
  • On Friday I may well do nothing again.

Anyway – here’s a few photos.

Trying to persude the sweet peas to start climbing up the fence:
Sweet peas (blog pic)
Bruce before his haircut
This reminds me of somebody....
And after…
Bruce (blog pic)

Told you it was severe! Don’t worry. He’ll grow back. He always does. And I might be able to splash some paint on that fence now. (If it EVER stops raining properly….)

6 Responses to “What’s going on in the garden then?”


  1. 1 Katie July 6, 2007 at 12:26 am

    Ha! Jobette! I’m going to have to work that into my vocabulary, I think.

  2. 2 nezza July 6, 2007 at 8:16 am

    hehe. I find the ‘ette’ thing can be added to all sorts of words. Another popular one I use is Dudette. :0)

  3. 3 Katie July 6, 2007 at 10:36 am

    I’ve been known to use the term “snackette”

  4. 4 nezza July 6, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Me too. It sounds far more exciting than just plain boring old ‘snack’ doesn’t it?

  5. 5 Katie July 6, 2007 at 11:50 am

    Exactly! More ladylike, too. 🙂

  6. 6 jackiesgarden July 10, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    I always enjoy your photos. And even though I wasn’t typing – I was visiting and got to see your new bathroom – it’s beautiful. I love the tile and the sink.
    I never thought of it as giving my plants a ‘haircut’. 🙂


Leave a Reply

