Grumpy Bear Day

Had a bit of a grumpy bear day yesterday. I think it was because I don’t remember sleeping before 6am or so. (Don’t really know why except perhaps it might be work-related.) That’s bound to get anyone off to a grumpy start. Luckily it was Saturday, so I didn’t have to be at work. Got up at about 11am feeling about 95% grumpy, wobbled around for a bit and gradually the grump-o-meter reduced to about 70%.

Went and collected a toothbrush holder I’d ordered (it matches the shelves and loo roll holder in the new bathroom) and then on to the supermarket for food since I hadn’t been for about a fortnight and supplies were getting low. Arrived at the checkout and was asked the standard question: “Do you want any help with your packing?” I gave my standard reply: “No thanks.” (I always bring my own bags so I don’t end up over-run with them at home. I also – as do a lot of people – have my preferred way of packing things.)

Now, is it just me, but whenever you say ‘no you don’t want any help thanks’, why does it make the cashier feel this is an invitation to throw the items at you quicker than you can pack them? It’s not a race people! It’s not going to make me pack any quicker, so I’d be grateful if you didn’t slam my apples at me so they develop bruises. Honestly – you think they’d be grateful for the chance to scan the items in a more relaxed and leisurely manner. (After all, the days of looking for the price and manually ring it up on the register are long gone. 😉 ) Grump-o-meter back up 85%.

Then home and grump-o-meter swinging up and down depending on whatever the current activiaty was. It should be noted that having a cup of tea causes a general downward swing (with a corresponding upward swing in the Happ-o-meter), whereas mowing the lawn increases grumpiness and decreases happiness with alarming rapidity. Had my usual bad-tempered conversation with myself about “Why, oh why, oh why, did I go for a hover mower because hover is the last thing it does and I would have been SOOOOOOO much better off with a push along one.”

Then because the sun has (unusually for this year) dared to shine all afternoon, my neighbours insist on cranking up their gas powered BBQ. This always makes me grumpy. I don’t know why.  Perhaps it’s because “one relatively sunny day” + “BBQ” = “British cliché”.

On a brighter note, I did manage to take some poppy photos that I liked. Here are a couple:


Good morning

Translucent

Rounded off the day with a girls DVD evening at a friend’s. We watched “Music and Lyrics” which had such an awful, cheesy script it was untrue. (It must have been bad because even I noticed.) However, the “POP goes my heart” song at the beginning and end were very chucklesome and we also enjoyed the bit where Hugh Grant’s character is being slightly beaten up over a restaurant table and he begs the other guy to stop because “my face is in the butter”.

Much happier today as I had slept for a full nine and half hours! Count ’em baby!

4 Responses to “Grumpy Bear Day”


  1. 1 hedgewizard July 29, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    Aargh! Flee! Flee the giant honeybee! IT WILL DEVOUR US ALL!!!

  2. 2 nezza July 29, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Yes – run for your life! 😀

  3. 3 jackiesgarden July 30, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    Your pictures are really awesome. You have that macro down pat. I love the color of that poppy.
    Glad to hear you are having a better day. Aren’t you happy sometimes, that there are only 24 hours in any one day?
    Nez, I have to ask, what is a ‘hover’ mower?

  4. 4 Ally July 31, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Haha – same question here about the hover mower !
    It´s good to hear you feel better today – oh, I see, it´s been two days ago already… LOL
    And I LOVE your poppy pics !! The one with the bee is amazing ! I have to try this too – I haven´t tried the macro setting of my cam too much so far.


Leave a Reply

