Archive for August 1st, 2007

Fresh Air

At last – a day in the garden! (And even better – a day off work…!)

I’d planned on starting with a lie in, but the person shaping a hedge with a noisy, electrical, trimmer thing soon put a stop to that. So I rolled out of bed, had some breakfast, did some general procrastinating before getting in the car and heading for my favourite plant nursery to chose a few things for the backgarden:


blog pic

Sadly I hadn’t anticipated on them being closed for the ENTIRE month of August. (How very dare they!)  I couldn’t have timed my visit on the 1st August any better really could I? “Oh bother!” as Pooh Bear might say.

I thought about going home in huff but opted for visiting one of the other nurseries on my list instead. This resulted in me coming home with this little lot:

blog pic

Then I turned my attention to the patch I was hoping to overhaul:

blog pic

The bit that took the longest and required the most general energetic behaviour was clearing it of weeds and stones, and digging it over:

blog pic

Then the fun bits could start. First the deciding what should go where bit:

blog pic

And finally the sticking them in the ground bit:

blog pic

It’s starting to look a bit more garden-like now (hurrah) even though the plants I got don’t seem to have gone particularly far (boo).

Oh well… I’ll just have to buy some more! 🙂

