Fresh Air

At last – a day in the garden! (And even better – a day off work…!)

I’d planned on starting with a lie in, but the person shaping a hedge with a noisy, electrical, trimmer thing soon put a stop to that. So I rolled out of bed, had some breakfast, did some general procrastinating before getting in the car and heading for my favourite plant nursery to chose a few things for the backgarden:


blog pic

Sadly I hadn’t anticipated on them being closed for the ENTIRE month of August. (How very dare they!)  I couldn’t have timed my visit on the 1st August any better really could I? “Oh bother!” as Pooh Bear might say.

I thought about going home in huff but opted for visiting one of the other nurseries on my list instead. This resulted in me coming home with this little lot:

blog pic

Then I turned my attention to the patch I was hoping to overhaul:

blog pic

The bit that took the longest and required the most general energetic behaviour was clearing it of weeds and stones, and digging it over:

blog pic

Then the fun bits could start. First the deciding what should go where bit:

blog pic

And finally the sticking them in the ground bit:

blog pic

It’s starting to look a bit more garden-like now (hurrah) even though the plants I got don’t seem to have gone particularly far (boo).

Oh well… I’ll just have to buy some more! 🙂

4 Responses to “Fresh Air”


  1. 1 jackiesgarden August 1, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    It looks great out there! You are so darned ambitious. Glad to see it stopped raining so you could work outside. I love the way you take the pictures – that tell the whole story from beginning to end. Good job! Oh – and I meant to tell you before, I really like the new ‘look’ you have going here.

  2. 2 Dausta August 1, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    I love the colors that you chose. You should have a great feeling of accomplishment for your day off…even if your neighbor did interrupt your rest time! Those early risers sometimes can really be annoying! I hope that you enjoy what’s left of the rest of your day off. GOOD JOB!

  3. 3 hedgewizard August 4, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Looks fab! When I try to do time-lapse shots like that I always balls it up and get the angle/distance wrong or lose the first one or overwrite the second one or whatever. Just never happens.

  4. 4 nezza August 4, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Thank you guys. 😀

    I’m pleased our weather has improved too. Got a few more bits and pieces yesterday and put them in today. It’s nice to see it with ‘proper’ plants in.


Leave a Reply

