Newsflash – tomato shows signs of ripening.

Hold onto your hats everyone, great excitement was afoot earlier today when a flash of red was spotted in the greenhouse and it turned out to be the first tomato bothering to ripen up. Wahey!

A flash of red

Hopefully the others will start catching on now. 🙂

6 Responses to “Newsflash – tomato shows signs of ripening.”


  1. 1 hedgewizard August 5, 2007 at 7:03 am

    Good for you – looks like you’re the only blogger in the world to escape late blight on your toms! I’ve got the same flash of red on mine, but the blight means I might have to rip them all out. I’ve slowed it down with bordeaux, but I’m hanging on one day at a time…

  2. 2 Sal August 5, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    Hoorah, a tomato! My tiny Italian plum tomatoes have started to turn reddish, I’m hoping to eat them by the end of the week.

  3. 3 nezza August 5, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    Hedgewiz – they live in the greenhouse, so perhaps that’s why they’re lucky?!

    Sal – yes – I’m leaving mine on the plant for the timebeing in the hope that it might encourage the others to join in! Isn’t there meant to be some sort of chemical reaction or something? Good luck with yours as well 🙂 (And oi – get on MSN at some point!!)

  4. 4 Sal August 8, 2007 at 11:11 am

    I will get on MSN, I promise – just that this two job lark plus the garden is keeping me a bit busy at the moment!

  5. 5 jackiesgarden August 8, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Woo hoo! I’ve had three small cherry tomatoes ripen – but everything else is still very green. (I may have picked those cherry tomatoes a little early – I was so excited to see ‘red’!)

  6. 6 Dausta August 8, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    That is something to get excited about……Sounds like your hard work is paying off.


Leave a Reply

