Just a little thank you

Firstly to anyone who’s offered me kind words over the job situation (which includes half the office where I work who can’t understand the point of it all – even though they won’t ever read it here!) please accept my gratitude for your thoughts. I’ve been feeling a bit of a waste of space since the bombshell was dropped, so trust me, it’s well received and means a lot. *offers you a bunch of flowers*

The one thing I can’t understand is how on earth I’m not meant to feel ‘forced’ into it when I’ve told them I don’t want to do it, and when there’s no other option. I’m going to have to raise it a bit higher unfortunately. I have no idea how to go about it and I’m kind of ‘scared’ to do it in case it ends up even worse. šŸ˜¦ Anyway, enough of that because thinking about it either makes me angry or miserable. Miserable at the moment because I’m tired and angry is for when I have energy.

I’ve decided I’d like to have a go at pursuing photography a little bit more. I’m currently leafing through a ‘teach yourself’ guide called ‘How to do everything with your digital camera’. I think I’ve picked up one or two tips although at the momentĀ some of the techy stuff is making a great big whoosh sound as it flies over my head. I’ve certainly found out my camera does a little bit more than I thought anyway. The one drawback of this book is that the photos in it aren’t that great! (In the sense that they are all black and white and not reproduced with great quality – which is probably not the fault of the author.)

I’ve also enquired about going to a ten week digital photography evening class at a local collegeĀ this autumn and am planning to go along and sign up at the beginning of September. I hope my little point and shoot camera will be sufficient for that…. I did pop into my local JessopsĀ (UK camera shop here in the UK) yesterday as well and ‘held’ a Nikon D40 (I think that’s what it was), but I was too scared to ‘have a play’. I feltĀ a bit silly, and didn’t really know any sensible questions to ask so I ended upĀ putting it back down gently on the counter and retreating quietly from the shop. I fear I may have backed out bowing reverently or something.

I invested in a copy ofĀ ‘Photoshop Elements’ yesterday, but I haven’t installed it yet. (It appears you either have to sell your soul to the underworld or mortgage your house three times to be able to afford the full whack version.) I have a four day weekend coming up, so I’m going to install it then and have a play.

And finally, I’m going to have a go at entering this year’s BBC Countryfile photo competition. The theme is ‘All Creatures Great and Small’ and the photo must be taken in the UK. I don’t suppose for one second I’ll come anywhere, but there’s no harm in trying. I’ll keep you posted. šŸ˜‰ (I’m not going to say which photo I’m entering yet. I might accidentally jinx it!)

7 Responses to “Just a little thank you”


  1. 1 jackiesgarden August 21, 2007 at 2:42 am

    Oh, how fun. I’m glad you have things to look forward to while you are sorting out the bullsh&* going on w/the job.
    Classes sound like the way to go. I wish I had more of an interest in it. Though the price of good cameras would scare me to death, too! I don’t even know how to do everything my camera will do – and don’t seem to care enough to decipher the book. (I’ve never quite figured out why I’m like this about a lot of things….like I’ll moan and complain because I can’t take good pictures, but I won’t do anything to remedy it!)Anyway, you go, girl! You’d be great at it and it would compliment your other artistic talents.

  2. 2 hedgewizard August 21, 2007 at 7:56 am

    Go for it! I did a course at our local HE centre on digital photo manipulation, and ended up making a very good friend in the tutor – now we’re writing a book together!

  3. 3 nezza August 21, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    I feel a little that someone doesn’t like me. The photography course I wanted to go on is all booked up. ARRRGGHHH. I’ll have to go to the library or something and see if there are any others.
    (Incidentally it wasn’t booked up this morning, but by this afternoon…. LOL…It really isn’t taking much to make me fed up at the moment.)

  4. 4 Peggy Archer August 22, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    Is there a place near you that will rent you a D-40? That way, you’ll be able to play around with it and see if you like it without having to shell out a small fortune.

  5. 5 nezza August 22, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    Good idea batwoman. I’ll go and ask the nice people at Jessops.

  6. 6 Sal August 23, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    Definitely go for it, if not this camera course then another one. Sod the job, do what you really want to do. No-one ever laid on their death bed and said “I wish I’d spent more time in the office”

  7. 7 nezza August 23, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    You are sooo right. *drunken hug*


Leave a Reply

