Hmmmm…..

I just found two comments awaiting moderation from someone who seems to be under the impression that I must be getting money from crocus.co.uk because I have them as a link. He also thought my whole writing ‘effort’ was extremely rubbish. (He must really think it was dire – he couldn’t bring himself to use an actual word, just dots.) I reserved my right to make swift use of the delete option.

He’s obviously entitled to his opinion, and I am well aware of the fact that this is no literary masterpiece (although I have never claimed it to be). It’s a pile of boring rubbish to be perfectly honest, but I don’t think I’m hurting anyone.

However, I would like to make it very clear that I definitely do not, am not, have never (etc) got any sort of remuneration from crocus. I’ve never actually even bought anything from them. I just find it a useful reference tool.

I don’t think it’s against WordPress rules to have a link to a commercial site on a blog, but if my understanding is incorrect, please let me know and I will remove it. 

Thanks.

7 Responses to “Hmmmm…..”


  1. 1 Peggy Archer August 31, 2007 at 3:20 am

    It is not against WordPress rules, and if it’s a link that you like and use and find to be a good resource, then leave it and tell him to sod off (that’s what you say over there, right? Sod off?).

    The trolls are coming out of the woodwork all over the place,aren’t they?

  2. 2 hedgewizard August 31, 2007 at 9:48 am

    What’d you do to piss him off then? As for the quality of the writing, I’d let the number of readers and comments speak for itself really. Oh, and you can’t please all of the people all of the time, or as JK Rowling put it “Really, Hagrid, if you are holding out for universal popularity, I’m afraid you will be in this cabin for a very long time.”

  3. 3 nezza August 31, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Thanks Peggy – and yes you’re right about the off sodding. 🙂

    Mr Wizard, I have no idea. I just found two comments awaiting moderation along the lines of “ANOTHER commercial link, must be good business writing this sort of …….”

    Is there a “whatever” smiley?!

    I rather like that JKR quote BTW.

  4. 4 Sal August 31, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    Ignore him, the fool. Your blog does what it says on the tin, and if he doesn’t like it he doesn’t have to read it and especially doesn’t have to comment. I like it. So there. (sticks tongue out at person who has been mean to little Nezza).

    BTW do you ever sign in to MSN these days? You’re never there!

  5. 5 nezza August 31, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    Hiya m’dear! Yes I do – I’m there right now. I always reckon it’s you who never signs in! LOL

    And thank you for the kind words.

  6. 6 jackiesgarden September 1, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    Oh, for God’s sake – the guy needs to get a life. I’d use the delete button on him, too. People amaze the hell out of me – you’d think they had enough to do just tending their own life – without worrying about someone elses! Ignore him, sweetie, we all know better.

  7. 7 Katie September 8, 2007 at 10:22 am

    Like everyone else, I’d ignore him and hit delete. Where people get the time and energy to write these kinds of rants is beyond me.


Leave a Reply

