Not much doing

This will probably be a hot contender for the world’s most boring post as I’m not at my most chipper lately. My chipnicity seems to have run off and hidden somewhere very secret.

Well….I attempted a little bit in the garden at the weekend, but for some reason I was struck down with a bad case of noenergyitis so I didn’t really acheive much. It’s probably not worth writing about really, so if you do bother to read this pathetic offering then you have my sincere gratitude and heartfelt sympathy in equal measures.

I did manage to get from this…

Blog pic

to a rather unimpressive this….

Blog pic

*Cue half-hearted round of applause*

And that’s really more or less about it. It’s not dug over properly or anything. Still full of boulders no doubt, and it’s definitely still full of weedy roots because near enough everything I tried to pull out just kept breaking off. The ground felt really solid, much tougher than I was expecting anyway, and I genuinely don’t know if it was just patheticness on my part, or if it was really dirt masquerading as concrete.

Just at the point where I really, REALLY couldn’t be bothered anymore, some more bark that I had ordered turned up. I’d planned to mainly use it as a mulch to suppress weeds, and just about managed to spread some of that around a little before giving up altogether and sloping off indoors…

Blog pic

Hopefully I’ll have a bit more energy and success next weekend – weather permitting. I did buy some more plants last weekend, so at least that’s a carrot to tempt me back out. They can’t live in plastic pots for ever. These are my new favourites. They’re called Heuchera. I think the leaves are fantastic – especially the underside of the purply ones which are a deep pinky purple. (I must attempt a better photo.)

Blog pic        Blog pic

Also got a lovely Fatsia to put in too. And a magnolia shrub. And some white and blue periwinkles (which I think I bought mainly for the name). Ooh….perhaps writing about it is enough to make me a bit more energetic.

Bet it rains on Saturday now…

3 Responses to “Not much doing”


  1. 1 jackiesgarden September 11, 2007 at 1:08 am

    For not having any energy – you got a lot done there! It already looks 100 times better. I wouldn’t have known you weren’t finished if you hadn’t said so.
    I keep forgetting to ask you….what gardening zone are you? Sure wish you lived close by, I have to divide plants this year – they are taking over. And I’m running out of places to put them. Well, I could actually find lots of places on our 50 acres, but the deer would have them eaten overnight! My little garden, and my ‘secret’ garden are fenced, and then our small front yard is protected by the motion detector sprinklers. Everything else, though, is fair game for the varmits around here.

  2. 2 Katie September 12, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    I’m the queen of not-enough-energy! I have no real advice, although I can recommend taking a nap. 🙂

    Love your new plants – the leaves are just wonderful.

  3. 3 nezza September 12, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Hi Jackie – I’m not sure what gardening zone I’m in, but according to the following link it’s zone 8.
    http://www.uk.gardenweb.com/forums/zones/hze.html
    You’re too kind you know – I’d gladly take baby plants off your hands if I was closer! And honestly that bit is just still full of weeds under the ground, but I’m hopeful that Saturday will be the day!

    Katie – those leaves are great aren’t they?! I also have a new Fatsia – the leaves on those are brilliant too.


Leave a Reply

