To Do List

I just have one ‘bit behind the greenhouse’ to sort out and then basically I’ll have worked my way around the garden.  (Hurrah!) The ‘bit behind the greenhouse’ is where the rhubarb lives and I will of course be saving that although I need to try and move a couple of the crowns if possible because since my ‘reorganisation, they’re in the wrong place.

Weather permitting this is what I hope to do tomorrow:

  • take out sweet peas (which are basically all finished for the year)
  • attempt to move sink from greenhouse to place where sweet peas were (although I think it may be a bit too heavy for me
  • cut back rhubarb so I can see what I’m doing (and handout the spoils to friends for munching on)
  • Weed and dig over rhubarb area (no doubt finding more stones on the way)
  • Attempt to move relevant rhubarb crowns
  • Chuck bark around the place to act as weed suppressant, general mulch and attractive pathway to second compost bin
  • Stand back and admire handiwork
  • Go inside and have a lovely cuppa.

Well…that’s the plan anyway. We shall see what actually happens.

6 Responses to “To Do List”


  1. 1 jackiesgarden September 21, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Sounds like MORE than a days work to me! You have done so much this summer, and changed things so much – you should be very proud of yourself. I’ve sure enjoyed watching what you are doing.

    If I was younger, had more fenced area, and a longer season — I’d be making more beds. I just love to do it. Used to love to decorate, and move furniture…and bought and sold three houses in an 11 year period, and that kept me busy. Then I married and moved up here where T likes PLAIN white walls, and doesn’t like things changed. Sheesh. No fun. So now I rearrange outside!

    I’ll be waiting for your latest update, if you can still move when you finish all that! 🙂

  2. 2 jennylitchfield September 22, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    The really important bit of your plan is to stand back and admire your handiwork with that cuppa in your hand.

  3. 3 nezza September 23, 2007 at 8:57 am

    Jackie – I was looking back at photos the other day from before anything had happened and yes – I think I have done quite a lot really haven’t I? (Even if I say so myself!) I’m looking forward to seeing it all start to mature next year.

    Jenny – I just couldn’t agree more! (And it was the best cup of tea ever!)

  4. 4 hedgewizard September 23, 2007 at 10:38 am

    I hate you. My “to do” list is on the right-hand side of the blog, and that’s only the stuff that I’ve got the will to write down. Grr.

  5. 5 nezza September 23, 2007 at 11:05 am

    LOL – Mr Wizard – I think your To Do list is on a much bigger scale than mine though. It’s all relative! In fact, your ‘to do’ list makes mine look positively puny.
    I do still have “stuff” to do, though – that was just a ‘to do’ for one day. 🙂

  6. 6 Katie September 26, 2007 at 3:23 am

    Sounds like a lot of work! Are you a fan of rhubarb? Will you cook it up? (I usually end up making strawberry & rhubarb crumble, or similar0.


Leave a Reply

