So how did I do?

Well…

  • Take out sweet peas – check
  • Move sink – nope – as expected it was far too heavy
  • Cut back rhubarb – check
  • Weed and dig over rhubarb area – check
  • Move rhubarb crowns – check
  • Chuck bark around – check
  • Stand back and admire handiwork – check
  • Have a lovely cuppa – check!

So, not bad really! And I had to have a break for about two hours in the middle because of some stray rain that dared make an appearance.   

Sadly the sweet peas had to go. I don’t know how it happens, but they always seem to be ticking along nicely, then I turn my back for a nano-second and, hey presto, they’ve gone manky. I expect I’ll have some more next year, but I think I’m just going to stick to one or two colours. They were a bit ‘blousy’ really.

Blog pic - before

So…. by the end of the day they were gone. Actually, they were gone before lunchtime. I’m no fool – I start off with the easy bits, so if I don’t finish the hard bit, it still looks like I’ve done something. *cheesy grin* I also moved the busy lizzies in front of them to new places as I think they still have a month or so left in them.

Blog pic - after

As for this lot, the plan was to move/get rid of some of the rhubarb because it was in the wrong place, generally finish off weeding/digging over the ground, and move the sink to where the sweet peas were. I have an idea for a ‘feature’ involving the sink – watch this space! (But you’ll probably have to keep watching until next year before it materialises!)

Blog pic - before

Well. I did most of it! I got rid of more rhubarb than originally intended, but I think it needed it. Most of it turned out to be one ginormous, old lump and there was much huffing and puffing and cursing under breath to make it come out. (Listening to The Matrix and The Matrix Reloaded soundtracks helped – nothing like visualising a bit of kung-fu when you’re wrestling rhubarb.)

I managed to save a couple of baby crowns (well I hope I have) and re-sited them closer to the fence. Hopefully they’ll settle in but, if not I can always buy some new ones next year. It’s a sort of tradition to have rhubarb down at the bottom end of the garden – even though I don’t actually like it much myself!

Blog pic - after

I did also dig out all the weeds and made a bark path down to compost bin number two. The sink didn’t exactly make it to the sweet pea area. It weighed a ton. Never mind. It’ll get there eventually. Maybe the sink fairies will move it in the night.

I was lucky to move it as far as I did really. It ended up upside down (not quite sure how), and I noticed there was a date on the bottom of it: 30/05/22. I assume that’s a date anyway. If so, it’s older than I thought. The sink came from the school my mum taught at. She asked to have it when they were re-doing the kitchens or classrooms or something. But I’m pretty sure the school was only built in the 1960s or 70s so presumably it’s had a secret, previous life before. I doubt I’ll never know though.

10 Responses to “So how did I do?”


  1. 1 peter donegan MI Hort September 23, 2007 at 12:13 am

    i’m very impressed! a love of the game is one thing but doing it all yourself is deserved of admration. keep it up

    slán go foill
    peter

  2. 2 nezza September 23, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Thank you Peter! I’ve just been and had a look at your website, and coming from someone who does what you do for a living that’s made my day – and it’s only 10am!

  3. 3 hedgewizard September 23, 2007 at 10:39 am

    You are made of win. And I still hate you.

  4. 4 nezza September 23, 2007 at 11:08 am

    What’s win?! Don’t forget – I have a postage stamp compared to you. Just think, I might end up sitting here bored and twiddling my thumbs – hey I could come down and help you! 😉

  5. 5 peter donegan MI Hort September 23, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    Nezza,
    as I always say – if you don’t enjoy nee love what you do then you’re not ever gonna be much good at it. In my opinion, the best of everything comes from the heart – you have that in abudance. It might be on a different level but you are good [and passionate] about it! nezza also has a sense of humour?! and what on earth is ‘win’?

    slán go foill
    peter
    ps if you’re poppin’ down to help hedgeworth – i’ll supervise!

  6. 6 hedgewizard September 23, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    Watch it Nezza, people who visit the Hollow learn very quickly that’s if they say “anything I can do to help” they end up knee-deep in s**t in borrowed wellies. And that’s even if they’re in the kitchen when they say it.

    BBS slang I’m afraid – WIN = success, therefore MADE OF WIN = the essence of success. “You are made of win” roughly means “you are victorious”. Doncha love the Japs? My favourite is “teh” which you can find on wiki. Teh kewl.

  7. 7 jennylitchfield September 25, 2007 at 7:32 am

    7/8 checks – great going Nezza.

  8. 8 Katie September 26, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed. It looks great, too.

  9. 9 Sal September 28, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    You are a champion rhubarb wrestler, and your garden looks ace!! You’ve worked ferociously hard and it really is paying off, just think, next year you’ll just have a bit of maintaining to do while you sit back and watch everythign blossom!

  10. 10 nezza September 30, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Thank you everyone – you’re all very kind! *beams from ear to ear*

    Sal – I think the rhubarb got its own back a little! (See next post 😉


Leave a Reply

