Anyone for Tennis?

I think the garden may have got its own back on me. I’m not sure, but I think I might have a bit of tennis elbow. LOL. Actually it’s not that funny. It’s quite painful. I assume it’s from gardening anyway. I can’t straighten the silly arm, and  it’s quite tiring keeping it slightly bent all the time.

I’ve been a-googling and tennis elbow seems to fit my ‘symptoms’ anyway: the not being able to straighten the arm without pain thing, and absolutely no ‘visual’ sign of anything useful like bruising or swelling thing for example. I’m also finding it weird that I can do some things as per normal sans any pain whatsoever, yet putting my arm through a sleeve makes me suck my breath in – even if the material barely touches it. Strange.

Although – having said that, there’s a chance it could be the lesser spotted ‘Golfer’s elbow’. If I’m understanding things right, the tennis version relates to the outside of your elbow, and the golfing one to the inside. However, I’m not entirely sure which is the ‘outside’. Depending on how I’m holding my arm, either could be the outside. And I don’t seem to be very good at working it out from all the ‘skeletal’ diagrams I’ve found.

At least it’s my left arm I suppose (I’m right handed).

I’m blaming it on the lump of rhubarb that didn’t want to come out of the ground and prompted some rather vicious (for me) hammering with the spade. Damn you pesky rhubarb you!

*shakes left fist angrily, remembers too late, yelps, and switches to right fist*

4 Responses to “Anyone for Tennis?”


  1. 1 hedgewizard September 29, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    Add it to the list of ailments that will pop up to remind you of your mortality every time you overdo it. And icepack it for ten minutes a few times a day, and take it easy on that arm for a week.

  2. 2 annabelle September 29, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Oooh…so sorry about the painful elbow. It’s just a sign we should plan a trip “west” tout suite. The only lifting allowed is a cold one…preferably at some outdoor cafe!

    Ahhh, if only we could. In spite of everything, your hard work is making a magnificent show in the garden.

  3. 3 Katie September 30, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Oh no! I hope you’re back to playing tennis/golf soon. 🙂

  4. 4 nezza September 30, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Thank you guys.

    Mr Wizard – I’ve been taking it as easy as I can – I promise. 🙂 Worst thing is trying to get comfy to sleep. I want to take my arm off and put it on the floor or something!

    Annabelle – hi hun – lovely to see you here – thanks for dropping by. Couldn’t agree more – that sounds the right sort of lifting – and I can always manage that with the other hand I expect! 😉

    Katie – It’s a right pain in the posterior (well…arm!) I keep forgetting, then… ouch!


Leave a Reply

