Flat-pack Challenge

I love a good flat-pack and a recent trip to IKEA proved the excellent opportunity. I think you’ll agree that this is pretty flat:

I am the queen of the flat-pack No 1.

(In best Rolf Harris accent:) Can you tell what it is yet?

I am the queen of the flat-pack No 2.

I never understand those people who say they can’t do it. If you look at the instructions, identify which piece is what, then follow the assembly bit in the right order then what is there to go wrong?

I am the queen of the flat-pack No 3.

Wrong you say? Well Nez – howabout being so flat-pack cocky that you don’t notice you’ve fixed in that shelf upside down until the point you finish assembling the whole thing and have put the screwdriver away.

fI am the queen of the flat-pack No 1.

Yep…still hadn’t noticed at this point. There was a ‘right’ side and a ‘wrong’ side, and of course to get to it, the whole thing had to be taken apart. Ah well – I think it was worth it and at least there was no nails or glue involved because that would have been severely annoying. I like it anyway. I’ve wanted a TV unit for about 10 years, but I’ve never been able to find one that I both like and actually fits in that space which is deceptively not as wide as I think.

I am the queen of the flat-pack No 5.

Now I want to move that radiator though. And get bookshelves that match, and heck – while I’m at it, howabout a whole new extension to the living room? (And all sorts of other things that will eat up all my pennies!)

3 Responses to “Flat-pack Challenge”


  1. 1 hedgewizard October 9, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    Heh. I was up there a while ago and said to the guy in the showroom “Hey! Isn’t the new order online feature fantastic?”

    He said “What order online feature?”

    “Now you can look at the whole catalogue online,” I said, “with live stock monitoring so you don’t have to drive a hundred miles to find what you want isn’t there. You just line your order up, pay for it, and they deliver it a week or two later! And if the order’s wrong or anything’s broken, they come right out and set it all right without making you drive a hundred miles to sit in a queue for four hours straight!”

    “Wow!” he said. “Really?”

    “No,” I said. “But wouldn’t it be great?”

  2. 2 nezza October 9, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    Hehe – I agree – that would be great! I take it you’re not particularly an IKEA fan then?! I have to say, I’ve never had a problem – but maybe I’m just lucky.

  3. 3 Katie October 9, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    I’ve done the exact same thing with an IKEA book shelf. Sadly, fixing it wasn’t straight-forward, and it still doesn’t look completely right. There’s a sad row of nail holes along the stretch of one shelf… 😦


Leave a Reply

