Light Pottering

Woke up on Saturday morning feeling vaguely-sore-throaty and sort-of-earache-ish so I treated myself to a weekend of light pottering and general not doing much. The weather has been lovely though. Gorgeous blue skies, and they are not to be wasted (especially as we have just one week left before the clocks change), so I did spend a little bit of time outside.

Over the last week we have had one or two just-about-frosts (the sign of a chilly winter ahead perhaps?) and this has meant my summer bedding has more or less had it. I’ve really enjoyed my white geraniums/pelagoniums.


Blogpic

See – they were quite pretty weren’t they? Did you like the artistic blurry ‘bokeh’ I had a go at. Anyway, I remember my uncle telling me that they could survive a winter if they were tucked up safe and sound, so I dug them up, whipped them into pots and popped them into the greenhouse.

Blogpic

Look! Gone! Hmmm…. – that’s a boring picture isn’t it? And how long it is before that gets all weedy….

Blogpic

Et voila. Here they are settling into their new winter home. I must remember to pay them the odd visit every now and then to see how they’re getting on. I hope they last. I would be good to get two years out of them. I’m not sure if they’re geraniums or pelagoniums to be honest. Judging by the pictures in my books, I’m leaning towards pelagoniums, although they get labelled geraniums, but answers on a post-card if you know otherwise. Or leave me a comment below.

I also managed to potter a whole 6 (count ’em) baby hellebores into the ground. I’ve taken a bit of a fancy to them and in the interests of having more perennial things in the garden I’ve now acquired an unlucky sounding thirteen of them and dotted around in what I hope is a natural-looking random manner, but which most likely just looks like someone trying to be naturally random. I know they should look pretty in the spring, and I’m hoping they’ll make good greenery in the summer as well. I’ll just have to wait and see I suppose. I would show you a picture, but I don’t appear to have one. Ah well never mind.

Other achievements? Hmmm… Well…. only of the non-gardening variety. 

The first one is actually a non-achievement. I spent a large part of today failing to persuade the downstairs freeview thing to pick up Film4 and the new Virgin1 channel.  It steadfastly refuses to. It does now pick up the wonderfully-named Channel Dave. Yes, that’s right: Channel Dave. Someone decided it would be a fantastic idea to call a TV Channel Dave. Go here if you don’t believe me.  Dave did actually come in handy because they’ve been doing back to back episodes of QI this weekend which happens to be something I am quite partial to and there’s not much else on. 

My other achievement was to make a horribly significant looking dent in one of the bags of ‘fun-size’ Aeros I’d bought (in a highly organised fashion) ready for Hallowe’en. Oops.

Anyway, I’m still vaguely-sore-throaty and sort-of-earache-ish so I’m going to wobble off to bed. Sleep tight all.

4 Responses to “Light Pottering”


  1. 1 Katie October 21, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Hope the vaguely-sore-throaty and sort-of-earache-ish doesn’t escalate! (sp??)

  2. 2 jennylitchfield October 22, 2007 at 2:26 am

    Hellebores will look wonderful in the spring. Pelargoniums have a vivid range of colours.

  3. 3 Sal October 22, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    Hope the achey things have gone away. And its supposed to be a hard winter, if you believe the signs in the hedgerows. Your greenhouse looks ace, am v envious

  4. 4 hedgewizard October 26, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    Yep – your greenhouse makes me look sad and rural. Am seriously considering growing some flowers next year.


Leave a Reply

