Assessment

It’s my annual ‘competency’ assessment at work tomorrow. Please think happy thoughts for me. It’s one of life’s little annoyances that we just whinge, and whinge, and whinge about incessantly for at least two weeks before it actually happens. I think I’ve been particularly whingy this year.

The whole thing just feels a bit unfair. We have answer questions about all sorts of stuff, some of which we don’t encounter in our day to day work. (They try to make it ‘one size fits all’, which just isn’t the case.) The first stage which we’ve been doing gradually for the last month (or in my case – probably because I am not the greatest at time management – more or less just today) is doing CBTs (Computer Based Training module thingybobs). These involve reading background info and then completing a short test at the end – which is ‘open book’ so not too bad.  (However, invariably you spot some bits that are out of date, and so are confused whether you should answer that particular question in the out-of-date or up-to-date manner.)

The second bit – tomorrow – is a closed book assessment multiple choice assessment. I don’t know why it has to be closed book. That doesn’t reflect what we’d do in the actual workplace. I think it shows greater competence if you can demonstrate you can find out the answer correctly rather than just guessing if your not sure. It’s not even a ‘real exam’. It’s just what my workplace has decided it will do for it’s training and competency programme.

The other reason it feels unfair is that only some job roles have to do it. Why my job role has to, and someone about two metres away on the next bank of desk doesn’t, I have absolutely no idea. Your role has to have some sort of ‘quality control’ element and said people on the next bank of desks have that as far as I can see, but hey….what do I know?

The thing that winds us up the most is that managers are exempt. I’m sure this is the main reason why the whinging falls on deaf ears. Why you are suddenly automatically always competent without needing to refresh your knowledge every now and then when you are management grade beats me.

So….I have all these ‘facts’ rattling round my head at the moment. At lunchtime tomorrow I can hopefully forget the ones that don’t affect me for another year, but until then, all happy thoughts gratefully received.

2 Responses to “Assessment”


  1. 1 Katie October 31, 2007 at 2:13 am

    This doesn’t sound like any fun at all (and just a wee bit condescending, if you ask me). Still, I’ll be thinking good thoughts for you.

    All the best!

  2. 2 nezza October 31, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Thanks Katie.

    Well – done it and I’m still alive. LOL. Because the test is computer based and multiple choice they were able to say by mid-afternoon whether we’d passed or not, and all of us on my team did which is good. We were all ‘stressed out’ and unproductive for most of the day though! (Especially from the post test “what did you put for so-and-so question” discussion before which always makes you feel like you’ve done everything wrong.)

    Now I’m sitting in the dark pretending I’m not in because I can’t be bothered to have to be nice to trick or treaters!!


Leave a Reply

