Bit under the weather…

…any sympathy gratefully received.

I’ve been working my way around the various symptoms of a cold for a week now and it’s getting boring so I’m a bit fed up and need a whinge. It started last Saturday evening with a very sore throat and a week later, I’ve arrived at the not much voice stage. (I must sound like a sound-check because every half an hour or so I go ‘hello, hello, testing, testing, 1-2-3″ just to see if I’m still husky.)

I’ve been very good and gone to bed early, stayed in the warm, made sure I’ve drunk plenty of fluids, and even missed the work Christmas Party. (Actually… if I’m honest I didn’t really want to go to that to in the first place so it was a handy get-out clause. Bah humbug!)

I’m fed up of

  • thinking I’m going to drown in my own catarrgh when I’m trying to go to sleep
  • waking up in a jolt at odd times of the night when my throat sends panicky ‘completely-dry-need-water-NOW’ messages to my brain
  • sucking lozenges that numb every part of my mouth apart from the bit that is actually sore.
  • general feelings of patheticness like not knowing what I want to eat

I also think I must have done too many sudokus (including fancy ‘jigsaw’ and ‘double’ ones) while I’ve been “resting quietly” because every time I close my eyes I see grids and numbers. So I’ve moved onto to re-reading favourite books from my childhood. I’m currently on Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild and it’s every bit as lovely as I remember it!

Anyway, can’t be bothered to moan anymore, but thank you for letting me whinge.

3 Responses to “Bit under the weather…”


  1. 1 hedgewizard December 9, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Oh for god’s sake – you have MAN FLU! Stay inside sweetheart, rest up and drink lots and lots. And get well soon…

  2. 2 Thursday December 16, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    I remember Ballet Shoes! Splendid book. I’m hoping to get Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH for Christmas.

  3. 3 nezza December 16, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    I know it as “The Secret of NIMH” but I loved it too! Someone wrote a sequel Rasco and Nimh (or something like that – it was Oscar backwards for some reason.)

    I’m working my way through all the Noel Stretfields that didn’t get passed on to my younger cousins – currently on Curtain Up.


Leave a Reply

