New beginnings

It’s okay – I am going for the most obvious first post-title of the year.

As the weather is in dismal mode so far this week, I thought I would start by posting one of my favourite, cheerfully colourful photos from last year. I had poppies popping up (no pun intended) all over my back garden last year, and they were fab. The one main splash of colour during last year’s garden ‘rennovations’. Throughout June and July, every time it stopped raining, I would run outside with my little point and shoot camera on macro mode and quickly snap away, and sometimes I got lucky like this.

poppy

(I’ve had this printed 10×8 inches courtesy of the wonderful snapfish, and I’m pretty pleased with it, although it means I now have to acquire yet another frame…)

The garden looks a bit sorry for itself at the moment. I know it’s only because it’s the middle of winter, it’s only really got baby shrubs that have yet to get-going, and leaves have fallen off the things that leaves are supposed to fall off, but it’s still a little depressing. I keep looking out of the window and thinking “grow guys, grow”.

I hope that by this time next year (yes…I am wishing away the year already), some of the non-deciduous shrubs will have put on a bit of growth. It doesn’t have to be loads, but it would be nice to be able to actually see them against the earth and fence! Bascially, at the moment I’m looking out of the window and just seeing brown, and binoculars are required to spot actual greenery. I am looking forward to getting back out there and carrying on where I left off though. Fingers crossed summer 2008 is not quite so much of a wash-out as last year.

I would post a garden picture, but it’s really not at its most photogenic. The holly by my front door looks great though, so perhaps I should take a few photos of that. (It’s got berries and everything!) The rellies did their annual holly prune just before Christmas for festive decorative reasons.

Other new beginnings? Well, next Tuesday I start an evening class in digital photography which I’m looking forward to. I’ve been trying to teach myself some of the ‘technical’ bits. Some things are starting to go in, but I think it always helps to have a person explain too.

On Wednesday I start a second evening class in webdesign. I got interested in this a couple of years ago, and taught myself enough html to be able to build and maintain this website by manually writing the code using trusty old notepad. (I use FrontPage and Dreamweaver at work, but don’t have such luxuries at home.) I’m hoping I’ll learn a few more tricks though. Possibly maybe even enough to see if job-wise a change of direction may be possible (which if it comes off would obviously be another new beginning).

I’m also planning on doing more of this in 2008:

Shadows

This was our Christmas Day afternoon walk. It was only a couple of miles I think – perhaps not even that. On Boxing Day we did a 5 mile walk though – just round the countryside where I live. (There are some lovely footpaths and villages and things.) I love walking, but I don’t do it anywhere near as much as I’d like to. My excuse has been that my friends aren’t “into it”. So, this year I’ve decided, what the hell – I’ll just start going by myself. Camera in tow of course. *cheesy grin*

And of course, I’m planning on becoming a cordon-bleu chef and general entertainer extraordinaire this year. Baby steps Nez, baby steps!

10 Responses to “New beginnings”


  1. 1 Jen January 5, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Your photos are fab – have you ever thought about an online shop so the less talented among us could still have beautiful framed prints on our walls?

    The food photos will be fun, once you’re in the swing cordon-bleu-ing. Sadly, my cooking is more cordon-bleurgh but never mind, eh?

  2. 2 nezza January 5, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Aww – you’re very kind to say that. I take an awful lot of mediocre photos though really.I didn’t actually know you could do ‘online shops’. How does that work??

    Trust me – when it comes to food, I’m just ‘bleurgh’ !!

  3. 3 annabelle January 6, 2008 at 2:31 am

    Every time I see those poppies I’m reminded of a flamenco dancer. I can just see her skirts swirling and floating in air!

    Sounds like a lovely year you’re embarking on. Filled with new adventures and possibilities. Hope there’s room for a little “travelin'” in there! *Wink*

    Cheers Nez!

  4. 4 vonne January 6, 2008 at 6:37 am

    I love that shot! You need to transpose (is that the right word?) yourself as a tiny person standing by the ‘trunk’ of your poppy, looking up. 🙂

  5. 5 Jenny Litchfield January 6, 2008 at 11:42 am

    You go girl and make those wonderful new beginnings work for you.I do enjoy seeing your photos.

  6. 6 nezza January 6, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    You’re all too lovely!

    Annabelle – I certainly hope there will be some travellin’. I have itchy feet already!

    Vonne – now that’s an idea. I could pretend to be sheltering under a poppy umbrella or something. 🙂

    Jenny – thank you kindly too. There’s nothing like a little encouragement to make you want to do better.

  7. 7 Thursday January 7, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Splendid poppy picture, absolutely splendid. My garden’s looking pretty dismal at the moment too although the bulbs are poking promising looking fingers up through the soil which is good to see. What photography course are you doing? I’m considering doing something or other so I’m not just point and shooting but actually taking more ‘considered’ shots.

  8. 8 nezza January 8, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Hi Thursday. I can confirm I am signed up for a City and Guilds photography course. Tonight was the first session, and I enjoyed it. We are starting right at the basics, which is just what I wanted, since if I get a decent photo out of my DSLR at the moment, it’s just by luck!
    We did Shutter Speed and motion blur today, and have already been given some homework! (Going out and finding some examples of how shutter speed affects motion blur.)

  9. 9 sal January 10, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    You already know I love the poppy picture, and that walk pic is fabulous! I love the light behind the trees, and the shadows.

    I also miss walking because I have no-one to go walking with – perhaps I’ll just start going on my own too

  10. 10 Jen January 11, 2008 at 10:22 am

    http://www.etsy.com/

    This place is fabulous for selling online. Trouble is I want to buy everything.

    (Have been meaning to post this link for ages, sorry)

    X


Leave a Reply

