Awakenings

It’s not just me that’s trying to have some new beginnings.

I did a little tidy up and general inspection of the garden yesterday, and was pleased to notice that the two baby rhubarb crowns I moved late last summer/early autumn are actually still alive and beginning to do something. Woohoo.

They’re teeny tiny at the moment, but definitely there. Here’s the evidence. (Taken at 2pm this afternoon – it was an extremely gloomy day today.)

Numero uno:

Awakenings

Numero dos:

Awakenings

4 Responses to “Awakenings”


  1. 1 Katie January 20, 2008 at 10:50 am

    So exciting! And rhubarb is fantastic. I’m a bit jealous.

  2. 2 nezza January 20, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    I don’t know what it is about the bottom of my garden, but rhubarb has always done well.

    I swear I’m going to try and do something with it this year other than give it away. You may have to remind me about that bold statement later this year. 🙂

  3. 3 Katie January 23, 2008 at 2:35 am

    Well, on my most recent trip to Australia, my mother and I ended up making this recipe at least three times:

    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/231744

    I made a few changes though:
    – sometimes substituted chopped hazelnuts for almonds. Pecans would probably work, too.
    – just made one big container, rather than 6 small ones
    – I think the quantity of flour listed for the topping is wrong. Every time I made it I ended using almost twice as much flour as suggested (unless I made a mistake in my conversion of oz to grams for the butter, but I don’t think I did).

  4. 4 nezza January 23, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    Thank you for that. I’ll have to try and remember to give it a go! Remind me in a couple of months. It would be something good to have a go at and then take round to the rellies. 🙂


Leave a Reply

