So…how IS my garden growing then?

The very observant amongst you may have noticed I have changed my blog title. I never liked ‘The world according to Nez’. It sounds stupid, and I never had any truly worldly thoughts.  It was just all I could come up with at the time.

I’ve been trying to think of a better name for ages, and this week I finally found some inspiration. I’d been reading a book (chick lit – nothing weighty) in which one of the characters sang ‘Twinkle, twinkle, little star’ to a small girl. This resulted in me humming various nursery rhymes to myself, getting as far as the second line of ‘Mary Mary quite contrary’ and thinking ‘hey…that’s an idea’. (It would be even better if my name was Mary, but sadly it isn’t.)

Anyway – I did spend a good couple of hours in the garden this afternoon. It was nice and dry, not too cold and I wanted some fresh air. I did a bit of wandering around with the camera, thought about going for a walk before deciding I felt like doing a bit of tidying up outside.

I started off by pottering about a bit in the greenhouse. I was given an Amaryllis for Christmas, and it’s quickly grown too far big for the pot it came with and there’s not enough compost to keep it anchored. The silly thing keeps toppling over (and naturally making a mess). Anyway, it’s now in a larger pot and staked with a smallish piece of bamboo so hopefully that will do the trick. While I was in the greenhouse I had a brief geranium (pelargonium?) inspection. A couple are still showing signs of life:

Inside the greenhouse...

After that I spent about two hours on my hands and knees having a general ‘weed’ in the flower beds. I didn’t quite get the whole way round before it was too dark to see what I was doing (and before my toes started going numb with cold) but I wasn’t far off. If I’m in the right mood, I enjoy weeding. You don’t have to think too much about what you’re doing, you can think deep thoughts, and you only need to look up every now and then to see the progress you’ve made which can be very satisfying. I just wish I had some plants to put in the nice crumbly looking soil now.

Things are definitely waking up. I hope they’re not doing it too early. These bluebells are certainly anxious to say hello. This is the first time they’ve been in this spot, having been moved last year, so I’m pleased to see they’re still alive. I hope they do actually flower. I’m not sure if a move will have an effect on that or not.

These are going to be bluebells

Down at the bottom of the garden, the baby rhubarb is now definitely visible to the naked eye. The bigger clump at the back is the one established bit I didn’t dig up last year. The two smaller bits at the front are ‘new’. I’m glad they appear to have taken. Down behind the greenhouse....

And to close, here’s an update on the hellebore from last week. (There are three more blooms in bud on the same plant.) It’s opened up a bit more so you can see its stamens. (They are stamens aren’t they??) It’s a bit awkward to photograph though as it’s insisting on keeping its head down as if it’s embarrassed about something. Don’t know why – it’s gorgeous! Please note the blue sky making a rare appearance.

Delicate

7 Responses to “So…how IS my garden growing then?”


  1. 1 bookbabie January 26, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    I really like the middle shot, it’s a great close-up:)

  2. 2 Katie January 26, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Oh! I’m so jealous. Spring is so far away here.

  3. 3 nezza January 26, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    I think it might be closer than it’s supposed to be here…. Global warming?!

  4. 4 sal January 27, 2008 at 12:12 am

    I’m so envious that you have a greenhouse. It’s been raining so much recently that at the beginning of the week, one end of the chickens’ run was under water. I can hardly get any outdoor time, but I’m forcing some rhubarb, so if I can get some pics tomorrow, I’ll post them.

  5. 5 uphilldowndale January 27, 2008 at 9:17 am

    I managed an hour or so in the garden yesterday, it is good for the soul and there is nothing like weeding (or decorating)for composing blog posts, you can let your mind ‘free wheel’
    Our bluebells, (my all time favourite thing) are about the same size as yours, I thought they would be smaller, may be it’s because they are established, this is their sixth year.

    Love the photo, I haven’t got a grip of close up shots yet.

  6. 6 Thursday January 28, 2008 at 8:27 am

    I spent time in the garden yesterday too, doing a bit of tidying up and we also re-edged the path which was disappearing under creeping grass. I think I’ve got bluebells coming up too – they’re smaller than yours at the moment but this will be their first year 🙂 Great hellebore picture – yours are far fancier than mine.

  7. 7 hedgewizard February 10, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Is all going to look fab. Keeping an eye on you! I’ve got my own sink to move sometime soon – frogs = fewer slugs…


Leave a Reply

