The bug is back…

It seems one nice weekend really got my gardening fingers itching. It really was lovely outside and this was probably exaggerated by the feeling of being trapped inside at work for AGES. (I don’t like these dark evenings – although it’s definitely starting to stay lighter longer which is good.) Sunday was also lovely – and not too cold – so I finished off the weeding from Saturday and then felt compelled to pay a trip to the plant centre. I returned with a tad more than the one plant I’d promised myself because they were having a 25% off sale, and everything looked nice.  See:

Getting carried away

I hope it’s not too cold next weekend as I’d like to be able to plant them. I have a funny feeling it might be a bit wintery next weekend though, so I may have had prematurely itchy fingers. Oh well – we shall see.

I’m also eager to put plans into action for the old Belfast sink that’s been upside down on the lawn for about 4 months now. It’s heeeeeeavy. I gave up trying to move it on my own, but if I’m lucky, I might have some assistance getting it to it’s new home this coming weekend. I have an idea for making it into a sort of bird bath using a mirror I’ve had lying around since my bathroom was done last year. (Recycling, you see – impressed?!) We’ll have to see if it works though….

And finally, since the sky was so gorgeous I had a go at taking photos of the holly by my front door. It’s beautiful this year. LOADS of berries.

Holly

[This bush is actually a mish-mash of three types of holly – with a bit of honeysuckle thrown in for good measure. Only one of the holly types shows here though. The next one along is similar shaped leaves, but variegated (green/yellow), and the third is also varigated (green/cream) but the traditional sort of spiky Christmassy holly.]

8 Responses to “The bug is back…”


  1. 1 Katie January 29, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    I really am jealous of your spring-like weather. I’d love to get outside and potter around…

  2. 2 sal January 29, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    I don’t like getting home in the dark either, but the light is definitely lasting longer now – its not pitch dark by 4pm, which is a good thing!

  3. 3 annabelle January 30, 2008 at 1:56 am

    Love the new blog title! Wow…your Spring is early…all that glorious new growth. I think there is nothing more soul-satisfying than seeing the fresh bright green shoots emerging from the soil each year. The chance to begin again…a clean start so to speak.

  4. 4 Jen January 30, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Lovely to see all those tiny new shoots poking their little heads up. I actually sat outside and read my book yesterday. Admittedly, I didn’t think I’d ever be warm again but it’s just soooo nice not to be trapped indoors!

  5. 5 nezza January 30, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I’m having a particularly stressful week at work. I can’t wait to get back out in the garden again and relax.

    Katie – Our weather report is snowy for this weekend!

    Sal – couldn’t agree with you more – roll on the clock changes…

    Annabelle – It does make you feel better doesn’t it?

    Jen – you’re very brave to be sitting outside with a book at the moment! But it ‘blows away the cobwebs’ definitely. 🙂

  6. 6 Katie February 1, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Well, that makes me feel a bit better. 🙂

  7. 7 nezza February 1, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    This will make you feel even better – it snowed here today!

  8. 8 Katie February 2, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Well we had hail and freezing rain – I’m not sure if that’s better or worse…


Leave a Reply

