Light dusting

Probably no gardening this weekend then!

We were forecast snow for yesterday/this weekend and we have indeed woken up this morning to a light dusting. This is outside my front door. My only visitor so far. I’m glad I haven’t had any post delivered today which would have spoilt this before I had a chance to get the camera out. (I am not an early riser – especially on Saturdays!)

The visitor

Snow was due to fall yesterday and all the schools in my area closed early as a result – so early in fact that the kids got sent home before a single flake had floated down out of the sky. I find that a little odd personally. Health and safety being over cautious? Would definitely not have happened in my day. Anyway, we did have a few flurries from about 4pm onwards, but nothing that stuck.

I spent a good hour yesterday afternoon doing my ‘photography homework’. This was finding a place of interest and taking lots of pictures of it from different angles etc while still taking care over things like exposure and composition. I walked down to the local church for mine. My hands were freezing afterwards (even though I was gloved up). I’m tempted (sort of) to go back this morning because of the snow, but it’s already melting and the longer I leave it…… Ah well. Plus I’ve done something painful to the top of my back/neck since I got up. Ironically, I think I did it while I was watching a news article on BBC breakfast on how to pick things up properly and not hurt your back.

Here’s some dusted holly for you:

Lightly dusted
1 Response to “Light dusting”


  1. 1 Jen February 2, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    I’m so jealous – no snow here in East Sussex but we’ve had that amazingly clear sky and sunshiney thing that somehow makes all the bark on the trees look luminous?

    Lovely piccies, as always…


Leave a Reply

