Micro Gardening

As it was sunny and I wasn’t at work today, I did a little prowling around the garden seeing what’s what. Tiny forces were at work all over the place.

First I got over excited to spot another baby rhubarb plant popping up (one I didn’t know was there – about an inch high so far). Then in the greenhouse I was first ecstatic to find weeny buds meant 3 out of my 4 clematises (clematii??) are actually still alive after all AND then tipped into a state of utter delirium to discover a fifth geramium/pelagonium has a shoot about a millimetre long. I have taken photos, but honestly….they’re really, really ridiculously tiny so not worth adding here.

Outside, buds are starting to appear on most of the usual stuff but there’s still a couple of things (a magnolia and two hydrangeas – all new last year) that I’m looking at suspiciously because I’m genuinely not sure if they’re still with us or not. Time will tell.

On a much brighter – and visible – note, I have plenty of crocuses romping away. These are by my front door. It’s the same clump a couple of hours apart. I had no idea they opened so much in the daytime since I’m not normally around to see it.

Crocuses for Katie Crocuses for Katie

And finally – something I hope UHDD gets to see – two of the dwarf irises I potted up last weekend opened up this morning. I swear they weren’t there when I first opened the curtains, but about lunchtime it was a case of ‘ta-dah!’.

First iris

The forecast for tomorrow is lovely and sunny all day, so I plan on doing a little digging.

7 Responses to “Micro Gardening”


  1. 1 bookbabie February 8, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Still jealous, we get the sun about every ten days lately and only for half the day:(

  2. 2 nezza February 8, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    awwww – I feel for you. We’ve had a lot of rainy days too, but I was lucky today, and it’s going to be nice for the next few days too. Hurrah!

    Hope your weather cheers up soon.

  3. 3 Doug February 9, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Thanks for sharing these valued gardening thoughts. I’m bookmarking this for future reference, as the points resonated strongly with me. Keep feeding the creativity.
    I am currently travelling so, for this reason, I’ve nothing better to do than surf the web for gardening info, lie around and update my blog. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

  4. 4 Katie February 9, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    I really love your crocus photos. Yellow + purple is one of my favorite color pairings.

  5. 5 Thursday February 9, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Crocuses (croci?) really are cheerful little things, aren’t they? I’m delighted that my snowdrops have grown – I’ve tried growing them in the past from bulbs and nothing’s happened but they obviously like it under the apple tree here. I have two tete-a-tete’s out too 🙂

  6. 6 nezza February 10, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Katie – those crocuses opened up even further yesterday!! I did of course take another photo, and will have to upload it at some point.

    Thursday – I’ve seen the photo of your snowdrops and I’m quietly envious! I absolutely love snowdrops, and although I have a few, they don’t seem to want to ‘naturalise’ into little groups like yours. The same single ones pop up each year, but they’re not dividing to make little clumps like yours which is disappointing. They lack the same interest when they’re on their own.
    Tete-a-Tete are daffodils aren’t they? Wow – early birds! I have to admit, I’m not a huge daff fan in the garden (although it could be my inability to position them in a way that makes a nice impact!) but I love them when you see them somewhere where they make you go ‘wow’. There’s a roundabout near me which is covered every year and it’s great! I’m looking forward to my new baby daffs coming out though. 🙂

  7. 7 Thursday February 11, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Tete a tetes ARE baby daffs! I love them!


Leave a Reply

