Pizza and chips

I’m having pizza and chips for tea because I’m tired and I can just bung them in the oven.

Although this weekend we had our two coldest nights this winter, I’ve been able to spend a fair bit of the weekend outside in the garden. The skies have been a perfect blue again, so the sun soon melted the frost, and the ground was quite easy to work with.

On Saturday, after a bit of hmmming and hawing I decided I’m going to put trellis against three of the panels along the long stretch of fence. This then resulted in me moving a few plants around so that the ones that ‘climb’ would be closer to where I envisage the trellis will be. Job jobbed for now.

After that I embarked on ‘Operation returf’ (or ‘Operation resod’ for any American visitors). You can probably tell what it is from the name. This is the bit I’m battling with. It’s full of moss and weeds and it’s just got to go so I can re-turf to match what I did last year. (I’m sorry – I just don’t have the patience to sow grass seed.)

The next job

Digging up turf is quite an energetic business. Well…the way I do it is. My ‘technique’ (or lack of it) is to yank up small squares with a garden fork and bash the **** out of them to remove as much soil as possible and then lugging tubfuls of the stuff to the patio and making a big pile there for removal at a later stage. Every time the energy levels started dipping I imagined the face of someone I don’t much care for and – hey presto –  suddenly I was able to whack-away with gusto again. (I’m not really violent, I promise!)

Operation re-turf

I got just over half-way through which was quite satisfying for one weekend. (Some of you may think that’s a fairly paltry amount, but remember I’m only dainty.) As long as the weather is kind again, I know I’ll be able to finish it next weekend. Then it will be a case of making sure I’ve got all the weeds and big stones out and preparing the ground for new turf.

I can’t wait until it’s done because I’ll be so close to the end of the ‘heavy jobs’ and I really want to be able to enjoy ‘tending’ to the garden this year instead of toiling away. After this bit of returfing is done, the last heavy job for me is filling a skip with this old turf (unfortunately there’s too many weeds for composting to be a option) and all those stones. I cannot wait for those stones to be gone, and have pencilled in hiring a skip for the long Easter weekend.

Boy, am I looking forward to giving the patio a good old clean.  Power-hose, here I come. 🙂

5 Responses to “Pizza and chips”


  1. 1 uphilldowndale February 17, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Wow that’s quite a task you’ve got there.
    I’ve never had a garden that was a ‘blank canvas’ enjoy

  2. 2 Thursday February 18, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Nice garden, complete with greenhouse. I love your shed.

  3. 3 hedgewizard February 18, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I go for the lazier approach: lift sod and stack, water, cover with black plastic or tarp in a corner and leave. Throw a bit of fresh topsoil over bare bits, and seed (or lay new hideously expensive turf). By next spring the old sod has rotted down into fantastic crumbly loam, leaving my violent impulses free to use elsewhere…

  4. 4 nezza February 18, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    I would Mr Wiz, I would. Trouble is this bit is just too full of weeds Plus, I did salvage what I could from what I took up last year (which is composting merrily away as we speak) and there’s just no more room in the Inn for any more.

  5. 5 Katie February 20, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Your backyard looks lovely. It must be lovely to sit out on the patio on long summer evenings.

    Good luck with Operation Returf!


Leave a Reply

