Operation Returf

I took UHDD’s advice and had a dig in the garden this afternoon. It did me good I’m sure of it. I’ve been feeling really anxious-y about this, that and the other lately. (I tend to get like that occasionally) but I seem to have dug it out of my system which is really good.

The digging was part of Operation Returf. I ripped up the last peice of old turf a couple of weeks ago now, but it needs a good dig over to get rid of weeds, roots, stones etc. I also need to make sure it’s all levelled out. My deadline for debris removal is the Easter weekend because I have booked a skip for then and the intention is to get rid of my stone pile into it. I absolutely cannot wait to say ‘sayonara’ to the stone pile.

Managed to have a fairly good dig over this afternoon, although I didn’t get through it all.  Assuming the weather is dry(ish) next weekend, I’ll be fine though. I’m not looking forward to lugging all those stones away though. My legs ache just thinking about it. (Actually….they’re probably aching from the digging, but you know what I mean.)

Here’s four rather boring photos showing my progress. Sorry about the colours on the last one. It was pretty much dusk, so I was having a play with ‘levels’ on photoshop, except I don’t really know how to best use them yet.

Operation returf Operation returf
Operation returf Operation returf
2 Responses to “Operation Returf”


  1. 1 layingturf March 10, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Good luck with that! On paper, I’ve been supposed to have been relaying my lawn for about 2 years. In fact, I’ve just got some straggly grass with remnants of last-year’s bonfire still blowing about the place (big ugly lumps of charcoal.)

    Anyway – keep at it!!

  2. 2 hedgewizard March 10, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Wow! That looks great – really neat and chic. Won’t last though – my raised beds looked like that when they were new, and now look at them. (tuts)


Leave a Reply

