Not impressed

You may know I’m not having a good time at work lately – not that I’m implying I go to work to mess around or anything. I’m being forced (with a shoe horn more or less) into doing a different role, and I’m not happy about it. I’m just not interested in the role in question. Today I was told my manager said I could revert back to the previous role only I’d have to be downgraded.

I don’t think so thank you very much. Not when the whole point of originally upgrading me back in 2006 was in recognition that by then I’d been doing the job at a higher grade level for at least a couple of years.

(The message was delivered via my sort of team leader. I say “sort of” because someone else is sort of going to become my team leader at some vaguely specified moment in time. We’re a bit all over the place at the moment. Clear as mud and all that. It’s great for morale.)

So today was not the greatest day at the office I’ve ever had.

I’ve been doing a web design evening class with a view to maybe just completely changing my “career path” altogether. Actually I’ve been doing two courses this term (the other being Digital Photography) and it’s quite tiring. I’m going on to do another Digital Photography course next term. Now I’m considering about doing the next Web Design one as well. 

I’ve already paid for the Digital Photography one so I’m committed to that now. However, if I don’t sign up for the next level web design one, they don’t run it again until the summer term 2009. Decisions, decisions. I’m all in a muddle in my head.

Serious thinking to be done….

(Incidentally, all issues with the digital photography portfolio of 12 photos that I was previously ‘stressing’ about have now been cleared up. A contact sheet for each photo is not required after all. I’m abandoning the film titles idea and going for a different personal theme of ‘body parts’ instead. Before you think naughty thoughts I’m meaning hands, feet etc. Then I’m going to do ‘Buildings and Statues’ for the other theme – with people of course. This will hopefully be done largely while I’m on holiday in April. I’m off to LA again. Unless I was hallucinating the last three times, they definitely have buildings there. I am also holidaying with people which helps.)

4 Responses to “Not impressed”


  1. 1 Jen March 16, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Oh, you poor thing – it’s horrible when so-called managers forget that we’re actually people rather than staffing commodities.

    They’ll be sorry when you’re a tip-top web designer. Sod ’em!

  2. 2 sal March 17, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Urg – sorry to hear your work situation is grim. They are idiots for treating you so badly, but as Jen says, they’ll be sorry, one day, when you’re selling your ace photographs via your own beautifully designed website. Roll on April and LA! We will take lots of pictures, and you can snap away at (most of) my body parts as you see fit!

  3. 3 nezza March 18, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Aww – thank you both. I really shouldn’t post blog entries like that. I’m just really upset about the whole thing. I feel railroaded into it and like they just don’t care.

    Yes. I AM destined to become the next famous web-designer slash photography guru. I can feel it in my water. LOL.

    Sal – T minus 15 days and counting. 🙂 I can’t wait. And thank you for being a photography model for me. Much appreciated. 🙂

  4. 4 annabelle March 29, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Forget those work woes and I’ll do the same. I’m taking my tootsies in for a pedi today…my feet and hands are all yours in T minus 4 days…


Leave a Reply

