Mysteries of Life

The following things are always a mystery to me:

  • Why, when I’ve done my food shopping at the same supermarket for years, the person in front of me at the checkout always has a trolley full of stuff I’ve never EVER seen before.
  • Why BMW drivers never, EVER use their indicators. Especially on roundabouts.
  • Why electrical cable of any sort self-tangles no matter how carefully you store it.
  • Why you start going to bed at 10.20 and finally climb under the sheets at 11.45. How does this happen? Where does that hour and 25 minutes go?
  • Why, when I’m driving and there’s suddenly a fairly narrow gap for two cars to pass in, I will breathe in and lean away from the other car as if somehow that will make my car smaller.
  • Similarly – why do I sometimes duck for branches while I’m in the car.

Do other people experience these phenomena or is it just me?

5 Responses to “Mysteries of Life”


  1. 1 uphilldowndale March 18, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    I always duck under the barrier in to the car park at the super market.

  2. 2 sal March 18, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    I breathe in, and I duck. I also apologise to dead things on the roadside even if it wasn’t me who killed them. As for BMW drivers – I commute 35 miles each way along a nasty A road (A1079 – it has its own webpage!) and BMW drivers are the most guilty for cutting up other drivers, overtaking stupidly, and generally behaving like complete gits.

    Electrical cable does that knotting thing because it can, and secretly its laughing at you when you leave the house, and plotting waya to tangle itself up even more by the time you get home. At least, that’s how it seems here.

    T-15 and counting? I think I will put a tick chart on my office wall!

  3. 3 hedgewizard March 19, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Hmm. I do all that too in the car – it’s an aura thing, I think, since we all think of the car as an extension of ourselves rather than a machine to be operated. However, worse than that, I wince when Witchypoo is driving badly. I pray to any god you care to mention that she never notices, because that can Never Be A Good Thing.

  4. 4 Jen March 21, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    I’ve never noticed that about BMW drivers. But I live in a teeny village where everyone drives land rovers. Well, not everyone. But there certainly aren’t any of those newfangled roundabouts!

  5. 5 Katie April 2, 2008 at 1:43 am

    I can certainly sympathize with this on:

    Why you start going to bed at 10.20 and finally climb under the sheets at 11.45. How does this happen? Where does that hour and 25 minutes go?

    I have no idea where the 1h 25min goes, but I can assure you that you’re not the only one to experience this!


Leave a Reply

