Spring is in the air… tra-la-la

Our clocks changed to British Summer Time today, and  to celebrate , we actually had a pretty nice sunshine-y sort of day. Just one rain-shower, that was it. Most of the time the sky looked like this:

I heart fluffy white clouds

That is my favourite sort of sky. Those clouds are HUGE. Like a giant bubble bath. It’s amazing really. Mother Nature can be so beautiful when she wants to be. And I always go soppy for that kind of blue. Much, MUCH nicer than yesterday’s grey clouds.

Things are starting to wake up. I really like it when that starts being evident. The first thing in my garden that starts looking pretty is the Aubreita, and I know this will be swiftly followed by my Forsythia bushes (there’s definitely some yellow on them now). It’s also nice that I was able to just have a look around today, rather than busting a gut doing some horrible heavy (for me) task.

Today’s sunshine definitely looked good against the Aubreita. Please compare and contrast the following two photos. The first is taken on my new Canon digital point and shoot. I like that I can get up quite close.

Bit more Aubreita

The second is on the Nikon DSLR. I can’t go quite as close with the lenses I have, but I much prefer the how colours have come out – much truer to life.

Aubreita

I’m definitely going to have to invest in a Macro lens at some point!

Anyway – that’s all for today. Nothing earth-shattering, but I have a headache at the moment. 🙂

9 Responses to “Spring is in the air… tra-la-la”


  1. 1 uphilldowndale March 31, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I am all wistful for a macro lens, which is not how I thought it would be, I imagined it would a longer lens that I would aspire to as a first purchase for our digi SLE.

  2. 3 vonne April 1, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I love, love, love my macro lens!! Well worth the price.

    Have a good and safe trip Nezza!

  3. 4 nezza April 1, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Thank you – I’m all packed and ready to go – and a bit nervous!

  4. 5 Jen April 13, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    You are in so much trouble. You and your fab photos have swayed me into signing up for a photography course. I’m doomed, I tell you, doomed. I’m sure sleep is overrated anyway…

  5. 6 nezza April 13, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Hehe. Oops – sorry about that then. 🙂 I hope you enjoy it as much as I’ve enjoyed mine! I ended up signing up for mine because I “fell in love” with flickr. If you want a good source of inspiration, I really recommend having a poke around on it. Sooooo many interesting, beautiful photos.

    Flickr is what started making me pay a little bit more attention to what I was doing rather than just ‘snapping’ (although I still do that really…!) Just put in search terms for stuff. And if you want to feel really inadequate, have a look a the explore pages!

    I’ve just got back from a holiday in the States today to discover they’ve had to cancel the ‘digital darkroom’ (a how to use Photoshop properly) course I was meant to be starting this week because there were only 3 of us signed up on it. Bit disappointing, but they’re hoping to run it in September instead.

  6. 7 uphilldowndale April 13, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Welcome home, I’ve been snapping stiles!

  7. 8 nathaliewithanh April 13, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Hi Nezza, thank you for your comments. I LOVE getting comments but I rarely get any. I wrote about Bill Clinton today as a test to see if I would get any feedback at all. So far nothing. I thought I took a pretty bold position… but nada, niente, zilch. Oh well. How was your trip to the US? Hopefully, you’ll blog about it. If you are ever in Texas, you should email me before coming. You could perhaps give me a few pointers for my yard which, unlike yours, looks like a weedy mess of a jungle. I can’t even spot my Jack Russells anymore… just their little heads spurting out once in a while.
    Looking forward to reading about your adventures.

  8. 9 nezza April 15, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Nathalie – your photography is beautiful. I don’t understand why you don’t get more comments either. Makes no sense to me.


Leave a Reply

