Too many projects and not enough hours in the day!

Sorry for being quiet for so long. I think I’ve just got a case of ‘too much on’ lately. I’ve been trying to finish off my Photography coursework. I’m getting there (although I have a tendency to agonise for far too long over tiny alterations in PhotoshopElements), but I still haven’t actually taken all 12 photos for my portfolio. Oops.

I’ve done 8, so there’s only 4 to go and I know exactly what I want to do. The problem (for me) is that all photos have to have people in them. This assumes you easy access to a ready-made supply of willing volunteers which, living on my own, I don’t. The problem seems to be getting me and my volunteers both available at the same time! I think I was meant to have handed it in by now, oh well… It WILL get there.

I am extremely grateful to my LA volunteers who nobly sat around at various buildings staring off into the (often not particularly exciting) distance while I snapped away to get a series of (often not particularly exciting) photos. Ah well. The course tutor did tell us to try not to use the same old buildings if we’d chosen that one. I think I’m pretty safe in that respect!

Then, whenever the weather is nice I’m trying to do stuff in the garden as I am just determined to have a more ‘finished’ looking garden this year. As it was one of those rare Saturdays where me not being at work co-incided with dry weather I decided to crack on with getting this far bit of ground ready for turf. (I’m hoping to do that next weekend, since it’s a bank holiday here meaning a three-day weekend).  This just involved trying to get it as flat, weed-free, and stone-free as possible. I used a combination of the more traditional treading down with tiny footsteps and (since my feet are so small and it was taking ages) my own improvised techniques of ‘giant ice-skating on soil type movements’ as well as ‘sitting down and patting it with my hands’. 

 Getting ready for turf Ready for turf

I’m not going to be so bold as to say it’s perfectly flat, but it’s definitely flatter. I’ll describe it as ‘smooth with minor undulations’. Hopefully nothing too noticeable. No craters to stumble into with the lawn mower for example. I must remember work out how much lawn I actually need or I can see me turning up at the turf place and having a Homer Simpson moment.

(Note to self – get around to doing that first mow of the year.)

Aubreita

And now time for a couple of pictures of things that are looking nice in the garden at the moment. My aubreita is out and looking fab – especially when it’s sunny. I’m a sucker for purples and lilacs so I always enjoy these in the spring. It’s just a shame it’s only a spring baby and doesn’t last right through the summer.

There’s three different types of aubreita in my garden and I’ve just about managed to get all of t hem in the photo. Light and dark purple and you can just about see a hint of the burgundy one at the far top of the picture. It’s only a hint because of the three, it’s the one that is less rampant.

And this is one of my heucheras (heucherii?? – who knows…). It’s definitely my favourite. It’s such a gorgeous colour. I was very stupid to put it at the far end of the garden though. I should have put it where I can admire it from a window. Ah well – we live and learn.

Heuchera

And to finish – I’ll leave you with a glimpse of the lovely evening sky we had yesterday…

Perfect sky

(It’s back to being grey and overcast today. Oh well… teaches us to be grateful I suppose.)

3 Responses to “Too many projects and not enough hours in the day!”


  1. 1 Katie April 28, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Good to see you back – I completely sympathize with the not-enough-hours-in-the-day problem. If only I didn’t need to sleep!

  2. 2 Thursday April 28, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Having just finished digging the new vegetable garden, I too need to do that flattening thing which is surprisingly tiring and hard on the legs. I have one of those heuchera’s which are indeed a sumptuous colour. Actually, I have four different ones as I couldn’t resist them – there’s the purple one, a paler purple one, one called key lime pie which is vividly lime and looks lovely next to the purple one and another called creme brulee which is tiny as it got inadvertently covered over.

  3. 3 nezza April 28, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Katie – yes – we could fit so much more in if we didn’t have to sleep. Or go to work! 🙂

    Thursday – you’re so right about the legs. I was aching afterwards which I couldn’t quite understand as I didn’t think it was as brutal as digging. I have some other Heuchera too. I have some paler silvery purple ones which have leaves with lovely deep purple undersides. And some green ones as well.
    Blog pic

    I’m liking the sound of the creme brulee one – for the name if nothing else!


Leave a Reply

