Warm weather causes slight garden activity

Apologies for not posting much lately. My energy reserves seem to be a bit low thus resulting in a minor case of CBA* lately. However the weather has been kind enough to allow me to do a few bits and pieces in the garden the last two weekends, so thought I should ramble my way through an update.

Like many in the UK, it just took a few hours of warm sunshine last weekend to have me scuttling off to my two favourite plant nurseries and coming back with a boot-load of flora and fauna:

Went shopping

Since then I’ve managed to spread  most of it around the back and front gardens – and there’s still plenty of space for more. I haven’t put most of the summer bedding in yet though since there’s still a chance of the odd late frost or two. Here’s yet another gratuitious picture of the back garden:

Getting there

I finally feel like I’m starting to get somewhere. Things are starting to put on a bit of growth now which is great. I just wish the shrubs that are meant to clamber up and obscure the fences would get a move on.  They can’t grow fast enough for me. *prays for lots of nice warm, sunny weather with frequent rain showers but that the rain showers would only happen conveniently at night when I’m tucked up fast asleep*

My next job, next weekend – assuming the weather plays nice – is to dust off the pressure washer and give the patio a good old blast. I love doing that, so I’m looking forward to it already. We have another three day weekend this weekend which will help. I really have no idea why we have two bank holiday weekends in May and then nothing until the end of August… you’d think they could space it out a bit better really…

Anyway, I digress. And in a new departure, here’s a quick glimpse of the front (photo taken specifically from a very cunning sort of angle where you can’t see all the bits that really need sorting out). I’ve been trying to get this right for about four years now. It’s north facing, so doesn’t get as much sunshine as the back garden and so far I haven’t cracked the best sort of plants yet. Plus, I don’t like gardening out the front (I feel a bit on display myself) so it tends to get a little bit neglected on occasion. *slaps own wrist for being naughty*

Out front

I did a bit of organising in the four L-shaped bed today. (You may notice I have similar shaped beds out the back. I think I did that subconsciously. These ones were here first – my 2004 ‘garden design’ project. ) The 6 red heucheras are all new, but the 6 euonymous (sp?) (if you can actually pick out 6!) are all existing plants that I’ve jiggled around from other places – but since you haven’t seen where they were before, I’m not quite sure why I’m telling you . The white things (can’t remember their names) are also not new.  I plan on having a tree of some sort in the middle one day. Something like a silver birch perhaps.

I need to think of things to fill up the remaining bare bits. I’m toying with hostas as the gravel means I don’t get that many slugs out the front. I’m not sure if hostas disappear to nothing in the winter though. Must do some research because that will be the clincher.

The hedge at the back is lavender. It’s just coming back to life and hopefully will be buzzing with bees soon. A baby elephant appears to have sat on one of the bushes (on the pavement side) which is very annoying. Since there is a huge crater and evidence of branch snappage, I think it’s beyond salvation. I imagine it was most likely a drunk elephant in the middle of the night. That sort of thing really winds me up. Especially since it’s not the first time drunk elephants have sat or trodden on plants of mine.  I know they’re replacable, but when someone else wrecks something of yours that you’ve spent money and time on (and probably thought it was hilarious as they did it) it’s just….you know….

Anyway – that’s all for now.

*CBA – can’t be arsed.

5 Responses to “Warm weather causes slight garden activity”


  1. 1 vonne May 19, 2008 at 2:59 am

    Thanks for the shot of the front! I’ve been curious how it looks out there. The front of my house faces north/west, so I feel your pain! I also don’t like to be out front on display, but mostly, I’m anti-social. haha I live in a very rural area, with only 4 other people living on our road, and they tend to stop and chat when they see you outside.
    Anyway, I’ve been struggling with those north/west beds for years. What gets me, is trying to balance the two corners of the house. The north side is in deep shade and the west side is hot as hell in the evening. I live in Texas, btw.
    I like what you’ve done so far with yours though. I’ll bet that lavender hedge is goregous in full bloom! I mostly have columbines in the north bed(yellow and purple) with red turks cap as the background plant and red coccinia in front of the columbines. In the west bed I have blue spiderwort and pink and white 4 o’clocks in back with an annual african blue basil in the middle, and I got lucky that the coccinia grows well on the west side too and I put it in front. So it’s all sort of balanced this year, but I can’t tell you how many different plants were sacrificed to the plant gods to get to this point. 🙂
    Sorry, didn’t mean to make this so long! Good luck with your north side. Happy gardening. 🙂

  2. 2 annabelle May 23, 2008 at 2:48 am

    Hostas disappear to “nothing” in the winter m’dear! But they are oh so worth it the rest of the year! The front and the back look so loverly…makes me want to see it in person!

  3. 3 sal May 24, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Yep, hostas disappear, but since you have that gravel to put the slugs off, you would get a fabulous display from May onwards – mine are looking pretty nice already, and I think the fact that the chickens were allowed to get at the pots over the winter means that lots of snail and slug eggs got eaten, so mine aren’t even too chewed up yet.

    I love your lavender. Something like a 3/4 willow would look good in the middle, perhaps?

    For a person with CBA, you manage to do pretty well!

  4. 4 Katie May 24, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    The back garden looks great – love the colors you have there.

  5. 5 nezza May 25, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Vonne – the lavender is fab in the summer. Full of bees and butterflies! I’ll try and get a decent photo when the moment arises. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who’s had struggles getting things right!

    Annabelle – I think I might just put that hosta in a pot out the back then. 🙂 Who knows – maybe one day you will see it?!

    Sal – Willow – that’s an idea. I’m contemplating a silver birch too. And a Hornbeam (I think that’s what it was called anyway – saw them on the TV at Chelsea!)

    Katie – thank you. I’m sort of aiming vaguely-ish at purples, pinks and whites. But it is very ‘ish’. LOL.


Leave a Reply

