Very small project

After Saturday the weather for the rest of the bank holiday weekend was decidedly soggy. And very windy.  I was mostly consigned to being inside. I did just about manage to put a few bedding plants in on Monday afternoon, but that was it. I got fed up of being buffeted around in a very un-May-like manner (and chasing things round the garden) so I went inside and had a nice cup of tea instead.

Here are the meagre fruits of my labour. They’re all white flowering plants – a mixture of geraniums, lobelia and busy lizzies. They look decidedly puny at the moment, but if we all cross our fingers hard enough, you never know, we might get a whiff of warmth and sunshine which I’m sure they’d appreciate.

Small project

The yellow alliums have started trying to come out again. I was trying to do some ‘close ups’ but I think I could do with investing in a decent macro lens really.

Yellow Allium

And in other news, I’ve won a massive £50 on the premium bonds. About time too. I’ve had the flippin’ things since I was about 2! I was hoping I’d get the monthly £1million. Maybe next time…! Oh look – a flying pig!

6 Responses to “Very small project”


  1. 1 uphilldowndale May 29, 2008 at 6:22 am

    I’d be interested to know what lens you have in mind, it’s my birthday soon 🙂 and I rather fancy a macro lens.

  2. 2 sal May 30, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Good luck with the premium bonds! Just about every month I wish for a nice chunk of money, doesn’t even have to be the million, but the most I’ve ever won is £50. Ah well. If I win £1m next week, I’ll be ringing you up to book flights and fix a trip! We can dream, can’t we!

  3. 3 Jenny Litchfield June 3, 2008 at 6:59 am

    I don’t much about lenses but your photos look great. Your garden is a picture to behold.

  4. 4 nathaliewithanh June 3, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Oh Nezza, come on and splurge! You have been talking about a macro lens for months now. Take the plunge.

  5. 5 vonne June 6, 2008 at 3:46 am

    I’ve said it before — I LOVE my macro lens. 🙂
    I had a sleepless night, the other night, and finally worked my way through some of your archives. Holy Cow, you’ve done a lot more work than I realized! I LOL when you discovered the strip of wood above the gate that you’d missed while painting.
    One question – did you really draw that pic of Keanu? Cause if you did, you have got some serious talent, my friend!

  6. 6 nezza June 10, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    I’ll have to go and investigate this weekend perhaps then. I have no idea what constitutes a good macro lens though!


Leave a Reply

