It’s all gone wrong

If you’ve been kind enough to read my offerings for a while, you’ll know I’m in the middle of some upset at work. My new role – the one I had no choice about doing and don’t want to be doing – was at least on the same team. That was just about all that made it tolerable.

That is no more. Yesterday I was told the company is re-structuring. They’ve created a whole new company division and I’m being moved into it. This means I’m leaving the area I’ve worked in since 1999. The one thing that was making the unwanted role tolerable was that I was at least still sitting with the people I liked working with.

I’m somewhat on the upset side. I could be moving as soon as 14 July.

8 Responses to “It’s all gone wrong”


  1. 1 Jen July 5, 2008 at 8:41 am

    That is so horrid. There’s something really apalling about being shoved about by the powers that be; I can understand your upset.

    Hope the silver lining presents itself sooner rather than later.

    X

  2. 2 Thursday July 5, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Unknown and unwanted upheavals like this can be really upsetting. I’m crap with changes that I haven’t instigated. Mind you, there was a time when you didn’t know the people you’ve been working with since 1999 so perhaps the people you’ll be working with in the future will be just as good to be around.

  3. 3 nezza July 6, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Thursday – you’re right about the people side of it. I’m sure they’ll probably be alright (mind you an ex-friend of mine will be one of them which I’m looking forward to like a hole in the head). The problem is the job. I hate the job. And I know I’m going to hate it even more when I’m not even in the area I want to be.

  4. 4 sal July 6, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    I hope the move works out well, but in any case this may be a sign that its time to move on, perhaps? Not always easy to find new jobs, I know, but you are good at loads of things and I’m sure somethign good will come up for you. Meanwhile, I will keep on wishing that we both win the premium bonds!

  5. 5 nathaliewithanh July 7, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Nezza! You’re back! I’m sure you are aware of the saying “Accept the things you can’t control and change the things you can.” Well, there you go. No point in agonizing over this. You were in a rut. There’s the answer! Something different. Something that may turn out to be wonderful for you.
    If after a few months, you are still dissatisfied, you can always look for another job. Give it a try! Actually, have you already looked for another job? Sometimes, you stay in a company forever simply because you feel secure in the position and the seniority, then you realize one day that you should have made a move years ago.

  6. 6 nezza July 7, 2008 at 7:29 am

    I’m sorry for sounding like such a misery at the moment. I’m totally, totally, totally confused at the moment over what is best – to stay or go.

    The move just means me and my rut will be in this new department. As far as I’m concerned this just validates what I felt all along – that it’s a different job altogether, not just a different part of the same role. They’re basically putting the company back in the position it was a few years ago (i.e. before the last structure).

    I know ‘worse things happen at sea’ and everything, but… this is my day to day life they’re messing around with and I was basically happy.

    I’d love to see if I could get anywhere will perhaps my web skills. I haven’t done anything yet because I thought I should wait to get my course result first though. I know there’s an awful lot I don’t know yet. I’m sure I could learn – but I presume it puts me at a disadvantage over people who know already. The whole thing is just a bit scary.

    Had a bit of a bad day yesterday as well. I was finishing off the write up of my web project. I had been saving changes all the way through, wrote the very last point, clicked to save it and got the message ‘this file has become corrupted and will close’ (or something like that). This was a bit alarming, but I thought “Don’t panic – you’ve been saving it, Word will ‘recover’ the last saved version.”

    Did it? Did it buggery. Not only did it not recover it, but I couldn’t even find it. It had been deleted, and then presumably deleted from the deleted items. There was a ‘rescue document’ in the same folder but when you opened it the entire document (except for or two sentences dotted here and there) was lines and lines of question marks.

    To say the air was blue is an understatement. I spent the rest of the day re-doing it. Oh well – it is done now….

    Okay. I’ll shut up moaning now.

  7. 7 Jenny July 11, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Hi Nezza.
    You’re allowed to moan. There’s alot of of empathy for you. The “corrupted” file thingee – Murphy’s Law in action. We can feel like we’re at the mercy of reformers and restructurers as we realise the fragility of our position. You’re right about the spill-over into people’s day-to-day life. Currently, my daughter-in-law is under severe stress to achieve routine company year-end financial reconcilations and at the same time meet the demands of external auditors acting for the take-over company. Colleagues have resigned or complained. And she’s pregnant. At least maternity leave is visible on her horizon. As a result, we mind the kids a lot when they’re not at day-care.

    In this country in the late 1980s to the early 1990s, we experienced really far-reaching major reforms. People were fearful and put under enormous stresses then – we were all affected in some way. I’ve since learned to do a SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, threats and opportunities) analysis as I weigh up pluses and minuses. I’ve learned to take a deep breath, dig deep and to re-invent in some way. New jobs weren’t always out there when wanted. New learning? Now that’s led to meeting new and interesting people and through them, new opportunities. The only thing now I know (may be it’s a cynical view)about change at work is that it will happen. It’s how I viewed change and coped that that mattered.

  8. 8 nezza July 12, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Thank you everyone. You’re all lovely!

    You know – after speaking with my aunt, I reckon it’s a lucky person who actually enjoys their work!

    Sorry again for being such a misery. The whole debacle has just left me feeling incredibly tired and ‘can’t be bothered’ about a lot of things lately. I’m a terrible ‘ditherer’ for ‘what is best’ too! I always have been. I think I analyse things too much. I’m naturally not very confident which I’m sure doesn’t help.

    Jenny – I can’t believe how they’re treating your daughter in law. That’s disgusting. I hope she’s looking after herself okay. It sort of sounds a little like my place of work at the moment. I’m by no means the only fed up one.

    ***hug to all***


Leave a Reply

