P.S…!

I really should point out that there was also an Uncle on the groom’s side of the family doing “proper” photos! He knows his stuff way more than me. He was a photographer for British Aerospace so spent most of his time photographing planes – often “air to air” pictures while he was travelling in small jets and things as they did strange manoeuvres!  *stomach lurches*

However, he’s also done the odd wedding too.  It was interesting watching him work actually. My cousin had asked me if I’d like to have a go at the bits like when she and the bridesmaids were having their hair and make-up done and getting ready etc, and then just to sort of ‘float around a bit’ and be sort of ‘background’.  I willingly accepted the “challenge”. LOL.

I have to say I’m not sure I’d ever want to be a proper wedding photographer. You have to be quite “bossy” to get people to do what/stand how you want them, and I’m quite shy so that would be a bit stressful. But I think I could quite fancy working alongside a photographer and sneak around doing the ‘secondary’ or ‘background’ stuff. 🙂

It obviously “helped” that I knew my cousin too. And the whole thing was very calm and relaxed. I’m sure a lot of weddings are very highly strung affairs. My cousin isn’t the sort to let things faze her really (unlike me…!). For example, the day before the wedding her hairdresser was rushed to hospital. (Pregnant lady – been fainting – not coming out of hospital for a few days. * )

Now I’m sure most people (me included) would have thought this was on the same scale as the end of the world, and have to put their heads between their knees and breathe into a paper bag for at least 2 hours. However, when I found out what had happened, I didn’t hear the word ‘panic’ to describe the situation. Instead I gather this “flustered” my cousin for about 15 minutes, then she ran to the hairdressers around the corner, and it was all sorted. Lifesaver! They even managed to have a quick run through of the bride’s hair that afternoon. What a star!

I’ve decided my next piece of photographic equipment needs to be an external flash unit. The built in flash on my camera isn’t really all that strong.  That would also mean I wouldn’t have to have the ISO setting quite so high for some pictures. Plus you can generally swivel the flash thing (see I know all the technical terms) so it’s not pointing right at your subject so you don’t completely wash them out.

Think I know what I’m spending my birthday vouchers on!

* Our thoughts are with the original hairdresser. We all wish her a speedy recovery and sincerely hope everything is okay with the pregnancy.

2 Responses to “P.S…!”


  1. 1 uphilldowndale July 26, 2008 at 10:05 am

    My friend who was a commercial photographer for many years, with his own studio but he wouldn’t touch weddings with a barge pole, far to stressful! Although he will now do ‘casual weddings’ for friends; you do need to be as much a people manager as a photographer, sound like great fun just to photo what you want and enjoy the creativity without the pressure to capture the ‘essentials’ (group photos).
    Brides have a magical sparkle, that only comes with the ‘big day’

  2. 2 nezza July 26, 2008 at 10:32 am

    I can totally believe that! It’s the bride and groom’s “big day” so the pressure is on to capture some good memories.

    My cousin was definitely sparkling, that’s for sure. 🙂


Leave a Reply

