Photographic connections

Well – the other day flickr wouldn’t let me log in, but that’s all sorted now. I ended up posting on the help forum, along with a load of other people from around the world experiencing the same problem. Someone ended up answering a comment of mine directly, so I had a little look at his profile and it turned out he lived about 4 miles from me. Co-inky-dink? Anyway, as a result I got invited to join a ‘Shropshire’ flickr forum, and I actually met up with a few of them the other night at Wrekin Arts group where we spectated at a talk by this guy… http://www.guyedwardes.com/index.html

He has the best job in the world! I’d love to take photos as good as his. (And make money from it!) It certainly gave us all food for thought, and I certainly came away with a bad case of lens envy.) I realise now I’ve seen some of his photos in magazines and things.

Anyway. The weather is rubbish. (Lots of flash flooding in the UK again lately.) As far as my little garden is concerned, my summer bedding is all over really. It never properly got going anyway. Not enough warmth or sun. Instead it’s just been bashed more or less daily by rain. Hence not many garden photos. It’s really disappointing after last summer. Let’s all keep our fingers crossed for next year. I’ve planted up a few cyclamen which I’m hoping will see me through until the spring. I’ve never tried them before, so I’ll be interested to see how they go.

In other news, I’m finishing off going through my April LA photos. Currently thinking the Disney Hall in Downtown LA is just fab. Here’s a few piccies for you.

Walt Disney Concert Hall
 
Sails and curves

Contrast

6 Responses to “Photographic connections”


  1. 1 uphilldowndale September 9, 2008 at 6:45 am

    That sounds like lots of fun! Love the buildings, I must go looking for some.

  2. 2 sal September 12, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    sounds like a good workshop/good group to get in with. Thanks for picking a decent pic of me, btw – I like how my hair has both horizontal and vertical bits!

  3. 3 sal September 12, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    PS love how you’ve got the surfaces of the Dsney hall reflecting light differently and appearing different shades.

    Also like that I look kind of cool, in a serious way, and not hideously old and fat – thank you!!

  4. 4 annabelle September 13, 2008 at 4:47 am

    Had to look twice…could it be that sexy speck of a woman is…moi! LOL! Couldn’t resist Nez. I don’t think I noticed when we were there the shadowing of the Disney name on that wall. Tres cool.

    Waves to Sal!

  5. 5 nezza September 13, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    UHDD – It was fun! I’m meeting up with the flickr people again tomorrow. We’re going to the Stiperstones with our cameras. (Sounds a bit geeky doesn’t it?!)

    Sal – I like that photo of you too. I imagine seeing it in a doublepage spread in the Sunday Times when they run a feature about how you got your Oscar for best screenplay. 😉

    Annabelle – yes that incredibly sexy speck is absolutely you. I hope you don’t mind me uploading that. I was hoping you didn’t since it’s small enough to remain anonymous 🙂 (PS I don’t remember that car being at the top of the steps…!?)

  6. 6 Peggy Archer November 4, 2008 at 4:30 am

    I love Disney Hall. I never get tired of shooting it.

    Your shots are really nice!


Leave a Reply

