Well, that’s just typical…

I’ve got a week off work and I’m starting it on antibiotics. LOL

I was feeling a bit run-down last week, and kept getting a pain above my right eye, and a bit of ear-ache and stuff. Then on Friday evening, I noticed a funny red patch above my right eye. “That’s funny.” I thought.

(I did say it was a funny red patch.)

Anyway it sat there all weekend looking red and hilarious, and started getting painful to the touch.  Saturday I felt all flaky and didn’t do much. Yesterday, I still felt a bit flaky when I woke up, but I was meant to be going to meet up with the  “Shropshire Flickr Community” so we could wow each other taking photos in the Stiperstones region of Shropshire. i wasn’t sure if i should go, but I did anyway. LOL. (I had a good time, but spent the day very aware of that bit of skin above my eye!)

Today, the funny red patch was still there, just as sore and tender as ever – but I was starting not to enjoy the jokes it was telling. I didn’t think it looked red or angry enough to ring the doctors, so I walked down to the local pharmacy. The assistant called the pharmacist to have a look, and she thought someone at the doctor’s surgery should have a look. So I went to the surgery, was told to go home and a nurse would ring me. The nurse rang me and made an appointment for later that afternoon.

And yes. I have an infection. Bit sort of like impetigo. Ish.  And I’m on the big-size antibiotics. Oh well – these things happen.

So, that’s just typical. I thought I was getting a bit run-down at work. I’m blaming work for everything lately. LOL. An employee’s prerogative! 🙂

9 Responses to “Well, that’s just typical…”


  1. 1 uphilldowndale September 15, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    just sit down by the screen and play wit your pics, or snugel down in bed; am I surprised you’ve succumbed to an infection? No, stress and angst will find away out

  2. 2 Jenny September 16, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Get well soon, Nezza. Cheers, Jenny.

  3. 3 nezza September 16, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Thank you both.
    After a weepy, sleepless sort of night, I went back to the doctors today and continued the teary theme by weeping all over the doctor. This resulted in me getting signed off until the end of next week. She thinks I’m all run down from work. The relief knowing I’ve got a bit longer to collect myself together is great. So I spent the day dozing on the sofa with a sore head.

    Have just discovered a re-run of Flight of the Conchords on BBC3 which is cheering me up no-end.

  4. 4 Thursday September 17, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    The last time I went to the docs, I learned by pure chance that I had impetigo when I was less than a year old. Clearly, I survived and I’m sure you will too although a rash on your face should be exploited to maximum, sympathetic, back-of-hand-on-forehead, woe is me, effect I feel.
    Eat well, sleep well, do as little as possible. You know it makes sense.

  5. 5 nathaliewithanh September 17, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Why, no picture???? HELLO! We need a photograph of this impetigo. Vital for the good understanding of the story and narrative enrichment. Really.

  6. 6 nezza September 18, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Thursday – Yeah – I know I’ll survived. I think I’m just run down generally which is making me weepy and stuff. I know I get over anxious about stuff which is silly and I wish I didn’t. Been doing that more and more lately. I know I’m silly. 😦

    Nathalie – well – i’m sort of embarrassed to take a photo because eveyone will go “what – is that it?!” There’s only one smallish red patch really. But that’s why i went to the pharmacist first. I think the antibiotics have been making me feel dodgy too. LOL.

    I’m so wimpy.

  7. 7 uphilldowndale September 18, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    I’ve come out in sympathy, spent the day in bed, venturing out only to wobble to the pharmacy to pick up my antibiotics!

  8. 8 nezza September 18, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    UHDD – am wafting sympathies your way. I hope whatever you’re inflicted with clears up soon. (((Bunch of flowers)))

    I got my friend (thank you thank you thank you) to wobble me to the doctors again this morning then I went back to bed. Rest does the world of good. Got up about an hour ago feeling a load better again, switched on the laptop out of curiosity and then went and resumed my horizontal position in the garden under the sun. Yes sun…!
    I’ve only had a banana all day but I don’t feel the remotest bit hungry, but am going to try and force a baked potato down a bit later.

    UHDD – don’t forget to keep up your fluids. Flush the little buggers out!

  9. 9 Jen September 19, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    The body is very clever at telling us when we need to take time out. You make the most of it – you need it and should revel in it.


Leave a Reply

