Running on empty

I am still here honest. Thank you for all your concern and kind words. It’s greatly appreciated trust me.

I’m kind of “running on empty” at the moment with not much energy for anything – hence lack of posts. I couldn’t be bothered to log in properly so I could leave proper comments! Mind you – I couldn’t even construct a proper sentence really! I have been reading your posts and blogs though.

I’m a little bit happier; having had all sorts of deep and meaningful conversations with people. I’m on anti-depressants again. From past experience I know they’ll help both to keep me calmer and make it easier to eat. I’m also on a waiting list for some counselling. You’re all right. I think I really need a change. Damn this “credit crunch” and what it will do to the employment market!

I’ve had a blood test and been to the hospital to have my lumps and bumps inspected. There’s nothing to be worried about on both accounts apparently, which is great. The lumps and bumps are probably just because I’m thinner at the moment. Funny how your body can play tricks on you isn’t it? But I guess it’s its way of saying “hey! look here – something isn’t right”. In my case it’s “life, the universe and everything” that isn’t right.

I’m off work next week. Not signed off this time, but instead it’s my delayed holiday week from September. I have quite a lot of bits and pieces to do for the drama group (which is what I was meant to be getting started on this afternoon, except I’ve ended up fiddling with a few photos instead), and I would like to spend a couple of days just doing nothing in particular as well. Maybe go for a walk etc.

I’m also considering the possibility of “adopting” a retired greyhound. I’m not going to rush into anything though. I love dogs, and greyhounds don’t actually need all that much exercise (short, sharp bursts), but it’s still a big commitment, although living with another living, breathing creature may well do ME some good. (And hopefully be good for the dog!) Anyway – we shall see.

I shall leave you with a picture of some faded roses (a symbolic representation of my own current ‘faded’ status! 😉 ). One of my friends bought them for me when I was off work. They were very pretty. They’re still pretty now – in a faded way! Probably time to be thrown out now though.

Faded

6 Responses to “Running on empty”


  1. 1 nathaliewithanh October 19, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Glad to get news from you. I was about to shoot you a worried email. I’m glad you’re on meds. Who isn’t nowadays?

    If I may suggest something about the dog adoption: it is an immense commitment. I’ve always had dogs and a dog door has always helped but I’m not sure they make them big enough for a Greyhound. This is my 2 cents and I am not sure Greyhound rescue does that in Great Britain, but how about fostering a dog for a while? It helps the rescue group, it helps a dog, and it gives you a taste of what is awaiting you (+ it gives you the opportunity to fall in love with the dog… or not)

    Nice photograph of the faded roses – although quite dreary. Snap out of it! Get me pictures of a nice Greyhound sprawled on your couch!

  2. 2 sal October 19, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Am also glad to get news from you. Good to hear things are moving in the right direction. Nowt wrong with medication, am considering that route myself. Also good that blood n lumps n bumps tests have come out OK

    Re dog, how about doing puppy walking for Guide Dogs for the Blind? Means you have a dog but not a huge years-long commitment. The other thing that Guide Dogs for the Blind do, which I was v tempted by, was “Dog bed and breakfast” – when the dogs are at guide-dog school, they need to live at home somwehere so basically you have them at night and weekends, and drop them off at school in the mornings! Brilliant idea, I thought. No worries about leaving a dog by itself all day.

    Chat soon?

  3. 3 annabelle October 20, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Much relieved to “hear” your voice Nezza. Thanks so much for checking in…I know it’s extra effort right now. The meds and counseling will help fill your tank and such good news that patch above your eye is not threatening.

    Brilliant idea Sal has! A way perhaps to dip your toe in the water without committing to a full swim. Hugs hunny! (which rhymes with Bugs Bunny…) I’m sending both…a hug and a laugh.

  4. 4 Jen October 24, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Gosh, what a relief about the lumps and bumps.

    Sal’s doggy idea sounds perfect – and a part-time dog would be fabulous for fresh air and photographs.

    I rather like the dying roses – there’s a terrific song by Martha Tilston, ‘Winter Flowers’. I’m going to send it to you. Hope you’ve got iTunes!

    X

  5. 5 nezza October 27, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Awww – thank you for the comments. I’m very pleased to say I know such lovely people thanks to the wonder that is the tinternet.

    *group hug*

    Still just at the “thinking” stage about doggies. The Greyhound people also do fostering too – from their website the fosterers seem to end up becoming permament parents. LOL. Sal – good idea about the guide dogs too. I shall have to look that up and see if there’s anything near me – although puppies might be a bit of handful. :o) (A very lovely handful though.)

    Annabelle – thank you for the photos you sent. It’s a shame you were so near but yet so far. If it wasn’t for that pesky Irish sea, we could have had a get-together.

    Jen – you’re a sweetie. Thank you for the iTune. (Yes – I have 2 iPods so I’m all iTuned up.) It arrived safely and is now in my iTunes collection. Lovely song.

  6. 6 Peggy Archer November 4, 2008 at 4:25 am

    Glad you’re feeling better, and I think a dog is a great idea.

    I’ve got a cat, but I can’t imagine life at all without some sort of fuzzy thing hanging around the house. I feel better knowing that there’s someone at home who loves me unconditionally (as much as that’s possible with cats, of course).


Leave a Reply

