Shiver me timbers.

Well, I had my week off and spent most of it chained to the keyboard getting the music ready for “Wizard of Oz” which will be the drama group’s next production. I was constantly singing the songs in my head which got just a tad annoying. I think a couple of my interpretations sound like something you’d expect to hear on C-Beebies (British TV channel for the very tiny), but never mind. I was also competing with the car alarm that my next door neighbour’s son was installing on his souped up motor. It’s a particularly annoying alarm that has about 10 different sounds, and changes after about 5 seconds of each one. It also loops – presumably until someone switches it off.

I know this because it’s gone off three times in the night so far. *grumbles and yawns* Never mind. I’m sure he didn’t mean it to do that although I might have to go and have a quiet word if it does it too many more times.

Thanks to my little red pills, I’m starting to “get my mojo back” (as Austin Powers might say). Feeling more positive and energy levels starting to go up. Work is mostly tolerable, although I’ve noticed if I feel stressy that thing on my forehead prickles. (My blood pressure went straight up the second I arrived back to work since some rude knoblett had pinched my chair – painstakingly set up just how I like it – and I had to run around the office to find another one – completely different style and not used to it yet – keep forgetting I haven’t got a head-rest anymore etc.)(We’re short on trivial items like chairs and desks lately. It’s been known for some of the millions of contractors who are currently crawling over the place to have ended up working from their hotel rooms.)

The first sign that I was feeling more like doing stuff was I felt like messing around with photos again. Have had four busy days in a row. Thursday night I went out for a meal with the drama ladies, Friday I went over to my pal’s house (to avoid trick and treaters), Saturday I met up with other pals that I haven’t seen for agesand Sunday I was out flickering in Shrewsbury.

Rather alarmingly – and early – we had some snow last week. At work, we all looked out of the window aghast. Well – I was a bit aghast! Snow is very pretty if all you have to do is look at it. I have a habit of (unintentionally) slipping over in the stuff. I hope this doesn’t mean we’re in for a long, cold winter.

Anyway – to give it its due, the snow waspretty. It froze overnight, so was still on my car-roof the following morning. Here’s a “close-up”. Not great because I was rushing to go to work, and completely forgot about measuring for white balance thus meaning much tinkering in Photoshop elements. Still – it’s all crystal-y and pretty! Bokehlicious in fact. (Well….maybe!)

Frozen snow on my car roof

3 Responses to “Shiver me timbers.”


  1. 1 Peggy Archer November 4, 2008 at 4:23 am

    That’s a nice shot! I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  2. 2 Thursday November 4, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Glad your mojo’s coming back.

  3. 3 nathaliewithanh November 4, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    I could see how your blood pressure would go up when you noticed your chair was missing. It would have pissed me off royally too. When you find a chair you like, perhaps you could mark it discreetly so that if it gets stolen again, you can find it and kill the asshole who stole it (or at least play a nasty trick on the asshole.)

    I’m sorry it’s snowing. Here, we’re still going around in our t-shirts! 😉


Leave a Reply

