What did you do yesterday?

I may not have “got going” properly until about midday, but I spent yesterday afternoon tinkering with music for Wizard of Oz. I got done more or less everything that I wanted to (which makes a change) but I was up until 1.20am doing so!

As far as songs are concerned, I think I’ve got everything sorted apart from the very beginning of “Jitterbug”. (This is not the Wham song by the way – just one of the ‘extra’ songs that appears in the stage version but not the film.) There’s bound to be something I haven’t thought about, or I’ll be ask to change though.

I even got one or two of the ‘sound effects’ sorted. Namely the cyclone and the sound of a mechanised broomstick taking off. I am quite proud of the broomstick – but only because it means I may have finally mastered the trick of “how to record more than one track” in a song on my ‘new’ keyboard. This is one of those ‘acheivements’ that is significant to only me though.

I have two keyboards. My first one I’ve had for 10 years now, and I know more or less how to operate every single function. I got a second one about 3 years ago now, and I still haven’t cracked it for this one! I’m gradually getting there. It’s having the time to sit down and tinker with the instruction book to hand. Sometimes I’ll manage something once but then I’ll have forgotten how I did it by the next time I need to do something.

Here’s the new keyboard.

What are you doing today?

You can record on both of them, so what I tend to do is either record the whole of a song on the old keyboard and play it through the new keyboard, or start something on the new keyboard and out of frustration finish it off on the old one. The process gets a bit fiddly because the old keyboard only saves to a floppy disk drive, whereas the new keyboard has a USB port and a smart media drive instead. This means I have to fiddle about on the computer in between.

I really should buy a few more floppy disks before you can’t get them any more, shouldn’t I?

Anyway – that’s what I was doing yesterday. How about you?

4 Responses to “What did you do yesterday?”


  1. 1 annabelle November 18, 2008 at 3:12 am

    Hello across the pond…*waves to Nez* Wow that keyboard looks massive! Congrats on layering tracks.

    My Sunday was mundane…the gym, grocery shopping, and having friends in for wine. Got to show off my Ireland pics. You know you’ve got great friends when they’ll indulge you vacation pics!

    And sadly it’s now back to that dreaded four letter word…work. Boohoo sob! Well…one less day til next weekend!

  2. 2 nathaliewithanh November 18, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Well aren’t you just the multi-talented artist?!

    I think the problem you are going to have with floppy discs long term is that you won’t be able to find a computer with a floppy drive. I’m surprised you still have one – I thought they must have been extinct by now!

  3. 3 nezza November 22, 2008 at 10:29 am

    You’re exactly right Nathalie. When I got my current PC, I had to get them to put a floppy drive in it especially!

    The ‘new’ keyboard did actually come with a USB floppy drive – i.e. a floppy drive attached to a USB cable, but it never worked. It just chugger, chugger, chuggered away endlessly wihtout ever managing to successfully ‘read’ the disks.

    I wonder if it’s still possible to get another of those? That way I’d still be able to transfer stuff from the ‘old’ keyboard.

    Right – it’s time to get out of my pyjamas now. 🙂

  4. 4 uphilldowndale December 5, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Just passed by to hello and hope all is well.
    That lopks like a complicated bit of kit!!


Leave a Reply

