Out with the old and in with the new

Well…another year draweth to a close. In a very foggy manner…

Spooky!

Foggy evening, Shifnal, Shropshire

It’s been a mixed one. I’m not too sorry to see it go. April was brilliant obviously, but then things always seem brighter when I’m next to the Pacific!

On the pier at Santa Monica

Santa Monica Pier, Los Angeles, California

I never did get my family round for a meal, so I failed there. But on a positive note, some important things came out in the open which have hopefully helped me start to be able to lay some skeletons to rest (even if I have ended up ping-ponging backwards and forwards to the doctors). I would still like to have them round for a meal. Maybe next year!! My head’s still a bit cluttered at the moment and I can still only think about ‘so much’ at one time. Bit silly really.

Waxing lyrical

Head in the clouds

Back to 2008 – I also really enjoyed the courses I did – especially the photography one. I’m also really enjoying being part of the ‘Shropshire Flickr Community’. I’ve met up with them 5 times now – although only 2 were for the purpose of actually taking photos!

Dusk - Shrewsbury

Tower, St Chad’s church, Shrewsbury Shropshire – dusk

I think I have improved photography-wise over the year – although I’m very much aware that there’s still loads left to learn. But it would get a bit boring I suppose if there wasn’t something else to work on.

I’ve got a new lens on order at the moment. A proper macro one. I do hope it’s worth it…. *crosses fingers and toes*

Anyway, I’ll leave you with a picture I took this evening of the Christmas lights in the little town where I live. They’ve done away with a ‘real’ tree this year in favour of this steel structure. it’s made by our Christmas Lights Committee group. I have to say, I actually really like it! It’s very pretty in the dark when it’s all lit up. Our lights really are pretty good for such a tiny town.  The photo is a long exposure, and I like the ‘twinkly’ lens flare effect around the lights…

Shifnal Christmas Lights

Anyway – Happy New Year. May it be happy and healthy for us all. One hour and counting….

6 Responses to “Out with the old and in with the new”


  1. 1 uphilldowndale January 1, 2009 at 1:47 am

    Wishing you a very happy New Year, I hope all you wish for will be yours.
    Keep those photos coming, they are an inspiration

  2. 2 Jen January 1, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    I truly do aspire to be as good as you at the old photography… having just been given a new lens and proper tripod for Christmas, I have no illusions of catching you up but happy to carry on being inspired by you.

    Have a fabulous 2009; I hope it twinkles as much as those Christmas lights in your last photo.

    X

  3. 3 Thursday January 1, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    I love, love, love that top picture. Truly magnificent. Like Jen, I can only aspire to achieve what you do with a camera. Funny, I thought about you and your cooking (or lack of!) a few days ago. how about practicing by baking a cake or something and having your folks over for afternoon tea? It’ll be far less stressful and help build confidence. This comes from someone who suffers mass anxiety at the mere thought of cooking for others. Anyway, happy new year to you!

  4. 4 nezza January 2, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    Thank you all 🙂

    And Thursday – I’ve been having the same idea as you about cakes. Now… I wonder how long it will be before I actually manage it??!

  5. 5 Katie January 3, 2009 at 2:53 am

    Happy New Year! And good luck with the “cooking for family” goal. 🙂

  6. 6 nathaliewithanh January 15, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Happy New Year Nezza!!! I’m back from Europe where I froze. Wouldn’t want to be you!!!

    Very very nice shots. The first one especially. For Christmas lights, the best time to photograph them is at dusk. That gives you a 30 minute window of opportunity. I wanted to photograph the ones in Dallas, got stuck in traffic and completely missed dusk. It sucked. 😦


Leave a Reply

